We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geelong's has boutique!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Haymarket Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Haymarket Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Haymarket Boutique Hotel
244 Moorabool Street | (Corner of Little Myers Street), Geelong, Victoria 03220, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 23 hotels in Geelong
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Geelong's has boutique!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed at The Haymarket for an overnighter whilst in Geelong on pleasure.... I never could find a boutique hotel in Geelong and I can now say I've found one! But it's VERY boutique although I understand they're building more rooms.
The room was okay. Clean and perfunctory. The TV up to date and working, and the bathroom was very comfortable. Located well, on foot or in car - this is a really nice place to stay. Have to say it's a little more than one would like to pay for what it is, but there's no other boutique option - next stop Four Points Sheraton....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

A gorgeous old hotel close to the centre of Geelong. Atmosphere, comfort, quiet and friendly. We are assured there is a friendly resident ghost as well but he didn't appear for us on this visit! Breakfast is a simple help yourself affair - cereal, toast, juice, tea, coffee etc. Not cheap but would definitely recommend as an alternative to the newer hotels and apartments down on the waterfront.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Lovely atmosphere and rooms. Very intimate with a very nice courtyard. Honesty bar is a great idea. Service was exceptional. Definately an option for that couples weekend away!

Room Tip: Note this is a BOUTIQUE hotel and accordingly the rooms are decked out with antiques!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Reading other reviews, I can only conclude that some people are hard to please. Who'd be in hospitality?! Yes, I would have liked a more accessible powerpoint, yes the kitchen/bar is pretty tiny - but on the scale of what's important, these things are trivial, and if you want all the 'mod cons' go to the Sheraton down the road. (I have stayed twice at the Sheraton and will never stay there again by choice now I've found the Haymarket which is a gem.) The Haymarket has a lovely feel, and in Geelong that's hard to find. We arrived very late on a Friday night so the hotel was closed and we entered via a laneway with a nearby hotel in full swing with loud music - oh oh, we thought, have we done the right thing choosing this place? However, the instructions as to how to get in worked perfectly, and our room directly on the courtyard was absolutely sound-proof. The heating had been put on for us too, which was greatly appreciated late on a cold winter night. Service at the Haymarket is a feature, the people we met were really lovely and very happy to help in any way they could. We loved the cosy lounge, the free wifi, the honesty bar (though be warned, it is locked at 9pm which we hadn't realised - and we were so looking forward to a glass of muscat in bed!). Breakfast is a reasonably simple affair but not basic - coffee is real and very good quality, bread is wholemeal, and there is a nice range of fresh fruit. The bed is one of the best I've slept in in a hotel. The hotel is located about 5 or 10 minutes walk from the centre of town. Parking is limited to four cars only. Note that although upstairs rooms are probably out of the question for a disabled person, the downstairs room we had would be quite OK for a fairly mobile wheelchair-user. In all, we loved this place and will be back next time we are in Geelong for a Cats match! By the way, we ate lunch on Sunday at Petteval winery - it was outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

This hotel has aspirations, but it just doesn't make it. Nice friendly staff, lovely antiques in the room, good bed & bedding, nice bathroom, chocolate on the pillow, lovely little sitting area downstairs. But overall not great, and too many small details missing and jarring. The location is a bit odd - up past some dubious shops and my room looked out over a distinctly unscenic tyre replacement yard.
It's a renovated period building - but whoever didn't bother to replace the ceiling cornices, which made the bedroom look oddly unfinished. The hotel promotes itself as offering 'luxury', yet supplied a very ordinary DIY breakfast complete with ordinary bread and little Kraft plastic packets of butter, honey, marmalade etc. Not my idea of luxury. Good marks for real coffee, but overall it's 3 1/2 star. Once was enough.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

I am an experienced traveller and after reading the reviews decided to book this hotel. All I can say is that by selecting a hotel based upon reviews does not always work out. This is one of those times. The other reviewers obviously were not used to the standard required for a 41/2 star hotel. This one fails to make the grade. Although good, clean and tidy with friendly staff, it is simply not up to the grade as advertised. I suspect that the grade has been selected by the hotel to justify the price. Therefore it is overpriced as it is really at 3 star level.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — overrated
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

There is a strange feeling staying at this (or any other B & B) that you can never escape the feeling that your staying in someone's house. Whilst the owners have transformed the Haymarket into what could easily pass a a English country hotel, the lingering sensation that the owners are sleeping in the room next door never goes away. Rooms are filled with old antiques, and lovely old spring beds, free wireless internet, LCD tv's and cable.
The honour bar, which is often mentioned on their website , and clearly used as a selling point, closes at 9pm, best get in before that if your thirsty, but beware, there are cameras all over you wherever you go in the B & B.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — See review
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Haymarket Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haymarket Boutique Hotel

Address: 244 Moorabool Street | (Corner of Little Myers Street), Geelong, Victoria 03220, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Geelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 hotels in Geelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Haymarket Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel Geelong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Haymarket Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.