We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal one nighter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Geelong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Geelong to your Saves list
Mercure Geelong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Gheringhap & Myers Streets, Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Geelong
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Ideal one nighter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

If you are visiting Geelong and need that one night convenient comfortable stop the Mercure is fine. Comfortable beds,good sized rooms,clean if a little tired.
Staff were very good during our stay. I do wish hotels like this chain would get with it as regards Wi Fi. In todays market it is really not good enough not to have free wifi...all day and with strong enough signals. That is my only criticism of the Mercure.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    467
    243
    68
    25
See reviews for
265
355
74
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I have reviewed most of the hotels I stay, either on business or with family. I hope I am able to provide a balanced and objective assessment of the quality of the rooms, the service delivered by the staff and the value for money. The staff at the Mecure Geelong are the saving grace of this very run down hotel. From the very start you walk towards the foyer and there is a massive hole in the entrance roof with exposed pipes and wires. It's a bad look and especially so when the rating for this hotel is 4 star. The lobby is in desperate need for a face lift, everything is pretty worn and tired. Don't park in the car park $18.00 for what is offered as secure parking is a waste of money. The car park is not secure at all and anyone can walk through. Park in the street for free. The room we had on the 5th floor was not cleaned to level you would expect a 4 star hotel, marks on the mirror, stains on the bed valance, the bed side light shade was either stained or faded and the ceiling above the shower was all crowed feet. The location is ok. You can walk to the main restaurants in the CBD but coming home up the hills is a bit of a hike when you have enjoyed the meal etc. The buffet breakfast the following morning was the highlight of the stay, it's quite good and there was a variety on offer. Low $200 was what we paid and its probably $50 too much for this very tired hotel. I almost forgot to mention the lifts. There are two central elevators and its a bit hit and miss if you get a ride to your floor with out a unplanned delay you are doing ok. Once ours stopped on the second floor and after a few minutes , helpful cleaning staff advised us to get out and use the other lift.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south west side over look the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong-Mercure, General Manager at Mercure Geelong, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Sandilong1511.

Thank you for your recent visit to the Mercure and sincere apologies your experience was not a positive one.

We greatly value all feedback, as it is with this we can improve and rest assured wherever possible I will address the concerns you noted. While some product upgrade issues may take a little longer, there are certainly some concerns, particularly cleaning issues, I will attend to immediately.

Apologies again and should you allow us the opportunity to restore your faith in the Mercure please contact me on phil.obrien@accor.com.

Yours Sincerely

Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaniva, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Good location, with free parking on street as well as car park on hotel grounds.
Friendly staff and good restaurant. One complain was the noisy air condtioner unit. Easy access to city and water front

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Hotel in definite need of refurbishment. Run down. Lady at check in desk did a brilliant job of serving two check ins simultaneously. Toilet had unsightly stains from previous guest. Not good enough!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong-Mercure, General Manager at Mercure Geelong, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear HY_traveller.

Thank you for your recent visit and sincere apologies we have let you down in a number of areas.

While it was great to read your comments about our reception team, I was very concerned to read of the issue you noted. Rest assured we will work diligently to prevent similar experiences in the future.

I would very much appreciate the opportunity for you to experience true Mercure services and to that end, please contact me directly on phil.obrien@accor.com if I can assist in any way.

Yours sincerely,

Phil O'Brien
General Manager
Mercure Geelong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Geelong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Geelong

Address: Corner Gheringhap & Myers Streets, Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Geelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Geelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Geelong 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Geelong is in the city centre, near Eastern Beach Waterfront, only a short distance to the Great Ocean Road and Avalon Airport, operated by Jetstar. The hotel features 137 rooms with bay or city views, a restaurant, bar, outdoor swimming pool, spa, sauna, gymnasium and conference facilities for up to 350 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Geelong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Geelong Hotel Geelong
Accor Geelong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Geelong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.