We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but below expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Geelong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Geelong to your Saves list
Mercure Geelong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Gheringhap & Myers Streets, Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Geelong
Brussels
Top Contributor
487 reviews 487 reviews
164 hotel reviews
Reviews in 179 cities Reviews in 179 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Good hotel but below expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We arrived at the hotel in the late afternoon.
We were returning from Port Fairy and we left the car to Avis before going to the hotel.
We took a bus and then some minute walking before reaching the hotel.
The location is not really in the centre-waterfront but at about 15 minutes on foot. The area doesn't offer nothing interesting and so we went directly to the waterfront.
The waterfront is quite interesting with some particular coloured statues decorating the place. Moreover there are quite a few restaurant where you can have a nice dinner.
The people of the hotel were very friendly and happy to help with indication and booking a taxi for the following day in order to go to the airport early in the morning.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong-Mercure, General Manager at Mercure Geelong, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Rosario_it

We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations so it was disappointing to read that we fell short of the mark in your experience. It was however great to note that you found our staff helpful.

The waterfront area of Geelong is certainly a lovely part of town.

Kind regards,

Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    467
    243
    68
    25
See reviews for
265
355
74
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wodonga, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The service here was fantastic and very prompt. One employee Adam who worked the breakfast service was helpful and was straight on to changing tongs when they were dropped or refilling juice when required. Short walk to the shops, uni and waterfront. Bathroom a little small but shower very generous. Only thing to say is bring own shampoo/conditioner as the one they supply is the same as the shower gel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Good things about this hotel:
-Nice location
-You can actually open the window and get some fresh air
-Nice mattress
Things that annoyed me:
-The air-con is very noisy and the fan speed cannot be adjusted.
-The TV in our room cannot be turned on for some reason.
-Shower door cannot be closed properly, water got out on the floor after shower.
-No free bottle water in the room

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong-Mercure, General Manager at Mercure Geelong, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member.

Thank you for your recent visit and the review.

Our goal is to ensure all guests have a great stay and I apologise that we fell short of this in some areas on this occasion

Certainly there are some things we need to improve upon and be assured we are committed to do that.

Should you be staying in Geelong again, please feel free to contact me directly. I would be very happy to ensure a pleasant stay.

Yours sincerely,

Phil O'Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Three groups of us stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The hotel has good sized rooms which are clean and tidy. Most rooms have a good view over the township. The breakfasts have a good variety.
Staff are helpful but they seem to be understaffed in the bar at times. Handy location.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokolbin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were warmly welcomed with smiles and warmth, we were helped professionally and felt very much at home. The room was 4* and the service 5*. Breakfast was well catered for and the car parking adjacent well maintained. All up, we would happily stay there again.
Ian

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Spent one night here with my husband and son recently and found the hotel to be suitable for a short visit. The room size was good and bathroom newly renovated but the hotel in general is still slightly dated. The carpets had quite a few stains and windows could do with a good clean. All the staff I dealt with were very friendly and pleasant and the buffet breakfast was really great. Good value for just an overnight stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong-Mercure, General Manager at Mercure Geelong, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear greenacres61.

Many thanks for your review and great to read you enjoyed your stay.

We strive to ensure all guests have a pleasant visit and while we take pride in the positives, I apologise we let you down with the room temperature. While these things may happen occasionally we certainly should have responded in a more proactive manner.

Thank you again and we hope to see you in the near future.

Best regards

Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We often stay here when in Geelong for a short break. The hotel is friendly and comfortable and is in a good location if you want to walk to the shops, football and beachfront. The hotel is not 5 star and is getting a little old but we always feel welcome and the rooms and bed are comfortable. This time my only complaint was our room was a bit cold at night as the air conditioner did not seem to be working properly. I did mention it to reception but nothing changed. The bay view rooms are the nicest.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Geelong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Geelong

Address: Corner Gheringhap & Myers Streets, Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Geelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Geelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Geelong 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Geelong is in the city centre, near Eastern Beach Waterfront, only a short distance to the Great Ocean Road and Avalon Airport, operated by Jetstar. The hotel features 137 rooms with bay or city views, a restaurant, bar, outdoor swimming pool, spa, sauna, gymnasium and conference facilities for up to 350 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Geelong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Geelong Hotel Geelong
Accor Geelong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Geelong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.