We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Geelong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Geelong to your Saves list
Novotel Geelong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10-14 Eastern Beach Road, Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Geelong)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Geelong
2 reviews
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I often stay at this hotel. Friendly reception people that make you feel welcome.
Nice views of the ocean and great restaurants to go too.
Also try buffet breakfast, very nice and lots of choice.
Only problem is hotel parking should be no charge for people staying there but otherwise all round a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSG, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Geelong, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoy staying with us on a regular basis and that our staff are always friendly!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Bryan Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    151
    80
    29
    27
See reviews for
61
133
21
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Had a good 2 nights experience in this hotel. Spent a lot of time in the restaurant (studying mainly) and they were quite accommodating and not intrusive. Their buffet breakfast was also very good with eggs served anyway you want! I had eggs benedict one day and florentine the next, but the servings are too huge when combined with the buffet!!!

Rooms are standard and not particularly modern or old. I had a corner standard room with a small glimpse of the water. The queen bed was not too soft which was good. My only wish was for windows which opened.

Also managed to absent-mindedly leave my ipad plugged into the wall of my hotel room when i checked out. Luckily the hotel were honest and left me a message to collect it!

Room Tip: Book early to get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSG, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Geelong, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for posting your wonderful review following your recent stay with us - I have shared your comments with my team.

Wishing you a fantastic 2013!

Warm Regards

Bryan Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Its quite a nice spot. Nice views. Note: not all rooms have views, you may have to ask ahead. Attached restaurant is a bit average. Front desk service was good. Rooms were clean and well maintained. Although, the hotel is quickly aging.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSG, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Geelong, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments.

I have shared your review with my team and we really appreciate your honest feedback.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Four Points by Sheraton Geelong in the near future!

Warm regards,

Bryan Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Yes the photos are of the hotel rooms, but they must have been taken a very long time ago. The feature wall had several chips in it, the carpet smelt damp, the bed was uncomfortable, I kept getting locked out of the room because there was a fault with the card and please spare me the boob photos in the bathroom - tacky. This place is in desperate need of a facelift. On the plus side, the service was friendly and it was across from the water.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSG, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Geelong, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Firstly thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to post your review.

Rest assured your comments are not wasted and I acknowledge we fell below your expectations and I will do everything within my control to focus on the areas you have highlighted.

Thank you for your comments regarding our friendly staff!

Wishing you and your family a wonderful 2013.

Warm Regards,

Bryan Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

King size room was very roomy, balcony with great view, quiet motel no noise from other rooms or doors slamming, shower was a little small but that was the only fault, great friendly staff, we parked over the road which was secure and cost nothing, close to all restaurants and cafes, great view of the water very relaxing

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSG, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Geelong, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review.

I have shared your comments with my team and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope to welcome you back to Four Points by Sheraton Geelong in the near future.

Warm regards,

Bryan Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberwell, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here for one night and it was pleasant enough but room was tiny but a bit of a bay view. Bathroom was very much starting to age and a bit pokey. This place seems suitable as a business hotel but I am not sure a leisure traveller would enjoy it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had dinner here a few weeks ago, hardly anyone in restaurant (maybe 8 tables at most), service o.k. but took ages to get our meals (close to the hour) and for the money, sorry not worth it.... There were 9 of us and only one enjoyed her meal and thought it was worth it. Over-rated !!!. Hate to think if function room was in use, how long our meals would have been.....Apparently breakfast is o.k., but don't do dinner..... Geelong just can't get it right with their restaurants, they have the view and everything going for it, location, location, location, but the foodies let it down... You could bring the people in Geelong if you really thought about it.... Sheraton the biggest and most disappointing....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSG, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Geelong, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
I really appreciate you taking the time to post your comments.

Based on your feedback we commit to working hard with our teams to review and improve our product offerings and overcome our operational shortfalls in the areas you have highlighted.

Please accept our sincere apologies.

Wishing you and your family a wonderful 2013.

Warm Regards

Bryan Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Geelong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Geelong

Address: 10-14 Eastern Beach Road, Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Geelong)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Geelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Geelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Geelong 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the waterfront with amazing views across the bay, Novotel Geelong is situated within Geelong's Central Business District, close to shopping centres and local attractions. It is within an hour by car from Melbourne and 20 minutes from Avalon Airport. The hotel features 109 guest rooms, a restaurant, bar, function rooms, indoor pool, steam room, fitness centre and free WiFi. Perfect for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Geelong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Geelong
Four Points By Sheraton Geelong Hotel Geelong
Sheraton Geelong
Four Points Geelong
Geelong Sheraton
Geelong Four Points

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Geelong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.