We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to rest.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Geelong Motor Inn And Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Geelong Motor Inn And Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Geelong Motor Inn And Serviced Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Keera Street, Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Geelong
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good place to rest.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We drove from Adelaide through the Great Ocean Road and arrived at Geelong Best Western late at night. The staff at the counter was very friendly and escorted us to our room.

We had a two room apartment which was very large with 5 beds, more than enough as there were only 4 of us. The room seems very old but in very good condition. The kitchen was also large.

Overall a good place to rest. We werent sure where to stay in Geelong and glad we booked this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    41
    23
    2
    7
See reviews for
32
35
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed in the 2 bedroom "serviced" apartment and from the start was disappointed with both the service and the inclusions in the apartment.

The start to our stay was not the best. We arrived at the motel a little before the check in time hoping to check in a little early, as we had traveled down from Sydney but was confronted with a closed and grated reception area with a large sign stating check in time was 2pm. Thus said, we went and did some shopping and then returned later. On checking in I was informed that a surcharge is placed on credit card payments and when I questioned this, the receptionist said this was "common practice" - having traveled extensively I assured him it was not. Whilst this is noted in the compendium in each room it is NOT revealed on their web site and while it is only a small amount in the interest of customer satisfaction it could be absorbed

The next surprise we got was when we went to the apartment and discovered that it was a nice apartment well laid out with 2 good bedrooms and a large living area However I expected the apartment to at least have cooking facilities such as a cook top, possibly with a stove (as it is advertised as having a galley style kitchenette). Imagine my disbelief to find it only had a microwave. (I'm pleased that when we went shopping we decided to have an easy tea by buying pre cooked frozen dinners). Even a fry pan or an electric saucepan would have been useful in the apartment but these were lacking also.

The apartment was also not "serviced" during our stay, again this is not disclosed in the compendium nor on their web site. So I am not sure if the room was missed or it is not included in the daily cleaning of units

On a positive note the motel is in a good location close to many amenities and the beaches in Geelong and the unit, despite being next to a busy road, was quiet and we were able to sleep well on comfortable beds

Room Tip: Be aware of the cc surcharge and the 2 bedroom apartment has very poor cooking facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeelongMotorInn, Owner at BEST WESTERN Geelong Motor Inn And Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for the gift of your feedback. Whilst your balanced comments express some positives, we are very sorry to read that you were not fully satisfied with all aspects of your recent visit.

We sincerely regret that the allocated 2 Bedroom Studio Apartment did not meet your expectations with regard your desired cooking facilities. Consisting of kitchenette (microwave, sink, fridge) only, our motel style studio apartment differs from our fully self-contained apartments which do have an oven and electric stove plate tops. Whilst it is no consolation to your disappointment, please rest assured that this was the lower priced apartment option that you had pre-booked and as such were allocated. We genuinely regret that you did not raise your dissatisfaction whilst in-house so that alternative options could have been offered.

Please also accept our sincere apologies for the housekeepers not attending to your room on the second day of your visit. This appears to have been an isolated service error on our part and we sincerely regret its occurrence.

We hope to one day welcome you back to Best Western Geelong Motor Inn. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to assist with any specific requirements we might be able to assist with so as to make your next visit more comfortable and enjoyable.

Carl Leahy
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsborough, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Kind professional service. For the one-night-stay whilst travelling it was a good choice. Especially the roofed pool made me feel like a roman, to bad I didn't bring my Toga :-)
I loved it that part swimming and relaxing!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

A lovely welcome by the owner and staff including letting us check in a little early after an 11 hour drive from Sydney.the room was beautiful included a king size bed and a spa bath and a little balcony to get some fresh air. The lovely lady at the front desk made you feel like nothing was too much trouble even helping with a local restaurant who delivers and she even delivered a tray with crockery and cutlery so we did not have to use plastic forks and knives. Would stay again. A warm welcome awaits and a lovely brekky room for the next morning with choices to delight all.

Room Tip: King size beds with a spa is the go
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We choose to stay at this Motor Inn for several days every month. It is always clean and the staff are very helpful and friendly, special thanks to Brooke. The location is great - short walk to City Centre/Waterfront/Train Station/Playgrounds. Offers a heated pool and spa - clean and safe - great for kids. Highly recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

An updated modern large room with a super comfy bed.
Very clean room and bathroom. We booked Bed & Breakfast deal and this included a great continental breakfast (cereal, toast, muffins, yoghurt juice, coffee) plus croissants and pancakes.
Motor Inn is a 5-10 minute walk to esplanade and restaurants.
would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakes Entrance, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The rooms are recently renovated, and are lovely. The spa is great, the water hot, & the bed is really comfy. Also the hosts are delightful. thoroughly recommend the stay. It's handy to Geelong, but not in the rush.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Geelong Motor Inn And Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Geelong Motor Inn And Serviced Apartments

Address: 30 Keera Street, Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Geelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Geelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Geelong Motor Inn And Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Geelong Motor Inn And Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Geelong
Geelong Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Geelong Motor Inn And Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.