We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Eastern Sands

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Eastern Sands to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Eastern Sands
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Eastern Sands
1 Bellerine Street, Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 23 hotels in Geelong
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Good location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here on a trip from Adelaide to Melbourne, it served its purpose as a stop over. The exterior and car park are definitely NOT 4*standard, they are run down and scruffy. The room was dark and quite noisy, however it had envy thing we needed for a stop over. I would not stay here for more than one night. The positives were their and the location, easy walking distance to shops and sea front. The reception staff were not good, one member used extremely bad language in front of us as we waited to check out.

Room Tip: Do not get a room hear the stairs or entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    8
    7
    10
See reviews for
7
11
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at this Motel last night, first mistake of the day! The air conditioner is out of the ark (and on observation they were the same in every room) it actually sounded like a jack hammer, impossible to sleep with it operating. The room soon became stuffy with it off but we didn't have a choice, it was horrendous! Couldn't open the windows because of street noise. Then.... when the fridge motor kicked in it sounded like a street cleaning vehicle. It doesn't stop there the bed was as hard as a board. The only upside is it was clean & we had a roof over our head. We couldn't sleep, got up very sore & tired. Couldn't wait to pack up & move on.

Room Tip: Rooms away from this Motel would be more suitable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel staff were friendly and as request when I made the booking bedding configuration was given.
The room was nothing fancy but beds were comfy enough. Decor was outdated but considering , carpets could have done with a good clean but for a basic one night stay I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stopped off in Geelong for the night, before starting the Great Ocean Road journey. This motel was just fine. The room was small but modern and clean, and close to the beach and the town. Unfortunately, we had a ground floor room adjacent to the kitchen of the Fishbowl Restaurant. There was a lot of noise and crashing of pots and pans until about 11 p.m. Apart from this, it was a pleasant, comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the restaurant kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The room was old, but very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The location was quiet, and heard no noise at night. The location was walking distance to shops. they had a great eat spot next door, so that was perfect. Would stay there again, and being upgraded to the deluxe room was perfect for us. the view was great. did try Foxtel and it would not work, so this i did not follow up, as we were only staying one night.

Room Tip: Deluxe room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here after taking my daughter down to her university in Geelong and simply wanted somewhere to lay our heads. That's what we got. The room was clean but had the World's noisiest air conditioner/heater which wasn't installed very well and had gaps around it through which frigid gales coursed through meaning you either had to rug-up under the doona or wear ear-plugs to stave off the noise.

Even if you did choose the freezing option the noise of drunken revelry and olympic standard boganism exhibited by some of the other guests was, while moderately amusing, also more than a bit tiresome.

As others have observed staff were conspicuous by their absence in the morning, unlike the two delightful, matching, pools of pink vomit outside the office! Outstanding!

We travel a lot. We've stayed at many worse places and there was nothing really wrong with the room itself or it's level of cleanliness but the heater was a bore and the screeching pest-fest was tiresome. I think we'll try somewhere else next time....

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I picked this hotel as it was only a 100m walk to my appointment the next day. This hotel is 400m from the bay and a 100m from the centre of Geelong. The greeting at made you feel very welcomed and the check-in process was painless.

I booked a Deluxe Bay View Room and found the accommodation more than adequate for my needs with a very comfortable bed and a window that opened so that I could have fresh air rather than air con if I chose. The room also had a microwave plus tea/coffee making facilities.

My dinner at the in-house restaurant the "Fish Bowl" was absolutely 5 Star and one of the best I have had anywhere. It also has a great selection of local wines some of which you can buy by the glass. As a staying guest at the hotel, I was also given a 25% discount on the total bill.

The only down side is that you need to carry bags up external stairs which was fine for me however could be a problem if not so mobile.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel if travelling to Geelong.

Room Tip: The Bay View Rooms give you a glimpse of the Bay past the trees and the Ferris Wheel is very colourf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Eastern Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Eastern Sands

Address: 1 Bellerine Street, Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Geelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 23 hotels in Geelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Eastern Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Geelong
Geelong Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Eastern Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.