We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST HOTEL WE HAVE EVER STAYED AT” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong

Save Saved
You added Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13-15 The Esplanade | Drumcondra, Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia (Formerly Chifley Hotel & Apartments Geelong)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Geelong
Mornington, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“WORST HOTEL WE HAVE EVER STAYED AT”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at quaility hotel geelong for what was supposed to be 1 night of rest, we booked a room with a balcony (as we are both smokers) but after checking in noticed we had no balcony. I called reception (while out for dinner) and were told they would move us to another room and when we arrive back at the hotel to go to reception.
When i went to reception i then had to go take my belongings from our room and put back in the car, then collect a new swipe card and move to new room which was only a few doors away. Moved into new room went to have shower, at first thought there was no hot water, eventually come hot after almost 5mins, then just about scalded me.
Later when we went to go to sleep, laid down in the bed, it was like laying on a concrete slab, the most uncomfortable matteress ever. We tried to get some sleep which was impossible as the mattress was soo hard and the pillows well may as well had no pillow (there was only 4 pillows for a king size bed, and all very small).
After 3 hours of tossing and turning trying to sleep on a slab of concrete enough was enough and we packed our belongs and checked out at 5am. We both had a sore neck, shoulders and hips which required physio treatment.
When we checked out we told the reception of our issue who replied 'if you had of told us then maybe we could have done something' but when we checked in we were told they were fully booked out. I wasnt going to move to room number 3 around midnight when i wanted to sleep, especially after a long day out. Reception said he would get the manager to contact us, but it never happened.
The booking site i used, i complained to, they tried to mediate between us and the hotel, but the hotel was not willing to contact us and would not even issue a partial refund.
NEVER AGAIN

Room Tip: go elsewhere, there are plenty other options in geelong
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaysideGeelongMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Hristos M,
Thank you for your comments regarding your experience at the hotel and again I offer my apologies for the inconvenience caused by the room mix up.
As you point out, once you alerted us to the issue we immediately allocated a new room for you, unfortunately you chose to do this after you had left the hotel and not as soon as you arrived to your room.
Our hotel beds are chosen with comfort in mind and feature a plush pillow top. The bed in the room you stayed in was delivered new to the hotel in June 2014.
We again sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused. We respect your opinion of our beds however we do not enter into negotiations with guests who threaten us with poor reviews as you did upon check out.
Yours sincerely
General Manager
Quality Hotel Bayside, Geelong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
19
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

By far the cleanest and best hotel in Geelong, and with excellent service and views of the bay. The restaurant at the front serves some of the better steaks here, and as a bonus, it's next to the current (2014) mayor's house (I believe he used to be a paparazzi in the UK?).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaysideGeelongMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Meeghan W,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
I will be sure to pass your compliments onto the team.
I’m glad you were able to take advantage of the restaurant and the view of the Geelong waterfront.
Yes, our city Mayor does live next door. He too frequents our restaurant.
Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.
Yours sincerely
General Manager
Quality Hotel Bayside, Geelong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Super easy to find right on the bay.

Check-in & check-out was quick with very friendly staff.

Room & bathroom was super clean & well equipped. However, the main living area was a little cramped for a family of 4.

Kids bedroom with 2 single beds was a little sparse. Just the 2 single beds with bedside tabel between. Nowhere to put bags or clothes. No bedside lamp for night time reading. It was a little cold as there was no heating in the room.

Parking was easy although it was not allocated.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaysideGeelongMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear emerging_lotus,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
It is great to hear you enjoyed one of our Family rooms.
These rooms have recently been fully renovated to lift them to our Superior range.
I am surprised to read there was no lamp in the second bedroom as all rooms are equipped with one.
Our family rooms are perfect for an overnight stay however for a longer visit we recommend our 2 bedroom apartments. The apartments have a dining area and lounge plus a kitchen with full size fridge, stove and oven.
Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.
Yours sincerely
General Manager
Quality Hotel Bayside, Geelong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Fairy, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We had just returned from a holiday and did not have internet access to make abooking online.
We had stayed at this hotel before,and paid about 180.00 dollars for a one bedroom apartment.
We were charged 241.00 dollars for the apartment and as we were tired we paid up.we were
Charged the bar rate,whatever that means.the room was very nice and would recommend it
As long as you book online.buy the way room service took one and a half hours,i guess iit wasnt
Our day.
Regards william
Date of stay 30/05/2014

Room Tip: The apartments are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaysideGeelongMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear William,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and for you repeated business.
I am sorry you feel the Bayview apartment was not value for money. These rooms are highly regarded by many guests and you have agreed it was very nice and would recommend it which I appreciate very much.
I have reviewed your stays with us and yes your previous stay last June was cheaper than the recent stay however the previous rate was $192. There are many reasons for the difference in rate. Last June you were provided with a complimentary upgrade to a Bayview apartment and this year the rate was for a Bayview apartment, our rates have increased in the 11 months since your last stay and they do fluctuate based on demand as do most hotels. Both stays were booked direct with the hotel on a walk in basis and I can assure you rates direct with the hotel are always the same as with any online booking service.
The BAR refers to the Best Available Rate. I am disappointed that the staff are using acronyms instead of using language guest will know and understand. I will of course address this with them.
On behalf of the team I apologise again for the delay in the room service and note there was some reduction in the charge provided on the night.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Thank you again for your feedback
Yours sincerely
General Manager
Quality Hotel Bayside, Geelong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed here with my family to attend a wedding in Geelong. We stayed in a family room which had two singles in one room and a king in the main room.
The room is well appointed, well furnished and was spotless.
Awesome view of the bay too and the hotel is in a perfect spot along the esplanade.
It was more modern than i expected and the bathroom had a huge shower in it.
The outside of the motel is nothing special but the restaurant looked good and there is also a pool towards the back of the hotel.
Get in there quick though as parking gets taken up very quickly.
Great value for both couples and family.

Room Tip: Family room is good if there are two of you dont mind sleeping on single beds in a seperate room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaysideGeelongMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear fima d,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
It is great to hear you enjoyed one of our Family rooms.
These rooms have recently been fully renovated to lift them to our Superior range.
Yes, parking is a premium but it is free and there is a spot for each guest room with ample on street parking too.
Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.
Yours sincerely
General Manager
Quality Hotel Bayside, Geelong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanango, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were at the end of a long journey and needed a quite peaceful place to stay and this was it. From the moment we arrived till we left to fly home the experience was great. Excellent presentation of the facility and the service was friendly, helpful and excellent. Dinner and breakfast were to a very high standard and value for money. Being on the bay it was ideal for relaxation and walking along the foreshore.

Room Tip: Ask when booking if you have any requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaysideGeelongMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear John M,
Thank you for your comments.
I will be sure to pass your compliments onto the team.
I’m glad you were able to take advantage of the restaurant and the walking paths along the waterfront .
Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.
Yours sincerely
General Manager
Quality Hotel Bayside, Geelong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The hotel is good and very clean. There is a nice restaurant with view of sea side and green park in front. It takes 5 minutes by taxi to the city centre. It is very comfortable to stay and relax during holidays or business trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaysideGeelongMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Thinh D,
Thank you for your comments.
I will be sure to pass your compliments onto the team.
I’m glad you were able to take advantage of our restaurant Black Salt.
Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.
Yours sincerely
General Manager
Quality Hotel Bayside, Geelong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong

Address: 13-15 The Esplanade | Drumcondra, Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia (Formerly Chifley Hotel & Apartments Geelong)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Geelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Geelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong is located right on Corio Bay, 1.2 km's from the city center, where guests can enjoy stunning views or take leisurely strolls along the spectacular Geelong waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Hotel And Apartments Geelong
Chifley On The Esplanade Geelong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.