We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong

Save Saved
You added Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13-15 The Esplanade | Drumcondra, Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia (Formerly Chifley Hotel & Apartments Geelong)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Geelong
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Simple and nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Book for a night on our way to great ocean road.
Staffs was very friendly and gladly helped and allowed us to change room 2x.
Unfortunately the room we finally settled in, the spa wasn't working.
Not sure how long it has been down but it was room 20.
Room itself is decent enough for a good night sleep.
Wifi offered upon request FOC.

Be sure to try out the black salt restaurant, serves wonderful dinner.

Room Tip: Try to seek a room on ground level as they do not have evaluators. Luggages has to be carried up th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaysideGeelongMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Joe_Coka,
Thank you for your feedback.
We appreciate your comments regarding the room you stayed in. Yes, some of our rooms have not been renovated and are marketed and sold as a 3 and a half star rooms. We are in the process of fully renovating these rooms and I am sure the difference will be notable. In the interim these rooms have new beds and curtains and enjoy all the facilities of your other rooms.
Many of our rooms are serviced by an elevator however there a some in the property that are not.

Thank you once again for your comments and I hope you enjoyed the Great ocean Road trip.

Yours sincerely
General Manager
Quality Hotel Bayside, Geelong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
19
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were staying in Geelong for the last round of the AFL season (2013). We found the basic room suitable to our needs, well presented and clean.

We stayed for two nights because there were only two night options available at the time. The first night we were at a loose end from a dining perspective and found ourselves talking to the hotel restaurant manager, Chris, about our dining options in Geelong. Needless to say he drove the Blacksalt (Hotel) Restaurant very hard and promised we would not be disappointed. Thanks to Chris' sales pitch we opted to dine at the hotel restaurant, which is a decision we rarely (never) make when staying at hotels.

We thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality shown to us by Chris and the meals, beer and wine was excellent! We were so pleased that we had drinks in the bar the following evening. Chris has a great knowledge of the local area and provided us with many options on activities in the region during our stay. He is a credit to the hotel and wonder if our stay would've been as pleasant in his absence. He set a high benchmark!

Room Tip: We were envious of those with bay views..!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaysideGeelongMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear milney10,
Thank you for your comments.
I will be sure to pass your compliments onto the team especially Chris.

I am pleased the Economy room suited your needs and our Bayview rooms piqued your interest.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
General Manager
Quality Hotel Bayside, Geelong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

From check in the staff went above and beyond to help, the rooms are beautiful, view is simply amazing, nothing was a problem for our stay my trips to geelong from now on will have me staying at Quality Bayside. Mrs S, Dewar

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaysideGeelongMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear audiosys96,
Thank you for your comments.
I will be sure to pass your compliments onto the team.
Your positive words will encourage them to strive for excellent customer service for all our guests.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
General Manager
Quality Hotel Bayside, Geelong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I checked in fine but on returning to my room later that night I found I had no hot water. I was told I could move rooms but given it was almost midnight I declined and was told I could work it out in the morning.
Come morning there was still no hot water and was told yesterday the council did works and it effected the whole street. Surely when I arrived at 6:30pm the day before I should have been advised of this.
When I asked what rate reduction I would receive, I was told none but could have a free breakfast. Because I had booked via an online service they couldn't do anything.I find this ridiculous that I could not be refunded a percentage as they happily take the booking and the funds via an online service.

Aircon in the room was noisy and the bathroom was very small even though it was an executive suite. Not even enough room for a rubbish bin which was sitting in the middle of the floor as no spot for it. Nor was there any room to put a toiletry case. No additional lock on the door which was unsettling.
Plus, no full length mirror which was yet another let down.

I travel monthly to Geelong and I won't be staying there again and won't be recommending them to anyone else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaysideGeelongMgr, Assistant Manager at Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Kate C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong (Formerly Chifley Hotel and Apartments Geelong).

I am sorry to learn you were disappointed with some elements of your stay. We welcome all feedback, some of which may not be complimentary and highlights areas we need to improve.

Unfortunately, we did loose hot water in some areas of the property on Monday evening due to work being carried out by the council. After direction from ourselves the work took place between 14:30 & 18:00. We were assured that a full service would be restored by 18:00. Frustratingly only part of the service was restored. We became aware of this during the course of the evening and moved as many guests as possible to rooms with hot water.

As you will have noticed, the room has had a renovation recently. I am happy to confirm that a full length mirror has been ordered and will be in the room asap.

A security lock has been fitted today.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours sincerely
Assistant Manager
Quality Hotel Bayside, Geelong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Front counter staff was very helpful and happy to give us an ocean view. Gave us several discount vouchers which the restaurant did not honour,that was very disappointing and may have changed our choices during the evening. We had a 2 bedroom room, beds were very comfy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaysideGeelongMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Janet,

Thank you for your feedback. We welcome all feedback, some of which may not be complimentary and highlights areas we need to improve whilst positive guest comments help inspire the team to excel in customer service.

We offer 25% off food, when a two or three course meal is ordered between Monday & Friday. Please accept my apologies that a discount voucher was supplied to you on the Sunday that you stayed with us.

Its great to hear that you found our staff to be so helpful and that you enjoyed the ocean views from your room.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Assistant Manager
Quality Hotel Bayside, Geelong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The bathroom could do with a spruce up as it was very dated, but it was still functional. Also, the bathroom didn't have an exhaust fan which left the room all fogged up. The room was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaysideGeelongMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear KJHock73,

Thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate your comments regarding the room you stayed in. Yes, some of our rooms have not been renovated and are marketed and sold as a 3 and a half star rooms. We are in the process of fully renovating these rooms and having recently completed the renovation on 8 of these rooms, the difference is notable. In the interim the remaining rooms have new beds and curtains and enjoy all the facilities of your other rooms.

I am happy to hear that you found the room clean and comfortable.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Yours sincerely
Assistant Manager
Quality Hotel Bayside, Geelong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Have stayed here numerous times and after previous stay hesitated to go back. However stay here was pleasant, staff were friendly and room was great..Great location and great view from bar..Only negative is the restaurant..prices are very expensive and not what a business person is looking for...when a restaurant is attached to hotel expect to find a reasonable place to eat especially if travelling solo.....Room service was also expensive witha $5 tray charge making meals even more expensive....Also had to barter for a corporate rate - should have been offered price without need for matching rates online.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaysideGeelongMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Kscs,

Thank you for your feedback.

I will be sure to discuss your comments regarding the availability of a corporate rate with our team.

We offer in-house guests 25% Off dinner, when having a two course meal.
The feedback that we typically receive on both this offer and the food is very positive.

Its great to hear that you found our staff to be so helpful and that you enjoyed the room.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Assistant Manager
Quality Hotel Bayside, Geelong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong

Address: 13-15 The Esplanade | Drumcondra, Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia (Formerly Chifley Hotel & Apartments Geelong)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Geelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Geelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong is located right on Corio Bay, 1.2 km's from the city center, where guests can enjoy stunning views or take leisurely strolls along the spectacular Geelong waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Hotel And Apartments Geelong
Chifley On The Esplanade Geelong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.