We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sopping wet” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Simonds Stadium

Simonds Stadium
370 Moorabool Street, Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 Attractions in Geelong
Type: Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields, Theaters & Stadiums
Attraction details
Bannockburn, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“sopping wet”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

no roof, i was drenched during a geelong game. had to leave early as the children i was with were crying saying their fingers were going to fall off. definitely would rather a stadium with a roof.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice meal out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a very nice meal here not to expensive and a nice relaxing atmosphere. The tables being round made it easy to talk to our friends and the meals all came at the same time so that was good

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirboo North
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere at Simonds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This ground is great for atmosphere. Not so good as far as seeing the big screens from all angles (Some seats are sort of adjacent to the screen and you have to really swivel your head around to see anything. The screens opposite have quite small text. I also thought the staff in the stands were less than helpful. We had been wrongly seated twice. When we finally found our correct seats there were people in them (also wrongly seated) and I went to tell the guy at the entrance. His comment : Oh you're about the two hundredth person who has told me this tonight. Didn't offer any solution. We had to sort it out ourselves. Poor training of staff!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Easy to access!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Fantastic venue to watch sporting events. Really easy to access and night events made magnificent by new lighting and large screens to view game from every angle! as a Geelong resident we are very proud!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beware Cats live Here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

What is there to say about Simonds Stadium other than "GO CATS," well actually quite a bit. Over the last few years many changes have been made to the home of the Geelong Cats Football team, new and very modern Grandstands now surround the oval, many modern artistic life size tributes of not only football players but also other sports identities from the Geelong area stand proudly at the entrance to the ticketing area, if your a Cats Fan the Cats Shop offers all thing Geelong for purchase, a pokies venue for the devil in you, there's a terrific eatery <but that's another review> and the amazing new skyhigh lights, that have made the footy ground a landmark from any direction <and save neighbors heaps on outside lighting bills> have brought the Stadium up to date with the modern face of football, You might even see some of the 'Cats' prowling around the ground if your lucky.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simonds Stadium also viewed

Geelong, Victoria
Geelong, Victoria
 

Been to Simonds Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simonds Stadium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.