We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value, Great View!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Salt Restaurant

Black Salt Restaurant
13-15 | The Esplanade, Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
+61 3 5244 7790
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 361 Restaurants in Geelong
Price range: $24 - $49
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Perched on Geelong's magnificent foreshore Black Salt Restaurant enjoys stunning views of Corio Bay and is the perfect place to relax and enjoy fine local wine, beer and food whilst taking in the view. Perfect for couples, families or entertaining clients. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner 7 days a week.
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Value, Great View!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Today four of us thoroughly enjoyed the Mon-Fri Lunch Special-2 courses for $21.90 or 3 courses for $26.90.
Seated at a table dressed in crisp white linen on the enclosed balcony, we were able to watch the small yachts sailing on a sparkling Corio Bay.
The service was friendly, helpful and efficient.
The menu offered a great choice of dishes.
My entree of Smoked Salmon Terrine and main of Beer Battered Rockling served with a side salad and chips was very good and excellent value at $21.90!
We will return!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    61
    15
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sitting high on the esplanade with great views of the bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

The room was neat tidy and clean ,staff very pleasant the restaurant Black Salt had a food and wine night showcasing a variety of dishes to match some great white and red wines the full restaurant was prompt and delish the beef cheek and bin 389 delightful would stay again

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaysideGeelongMgr, Manager at Black Salt Restaurant, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear thommoAustralia

Thank you for sharing your recent experience of Black Salt restaurant and Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong.

I am delighted you found all elements of your stay to be pleasing and that you were lucky enough to be with us on the evening of our Penfold's Wine Dinner.

It was certainly a very successful evening and although the menu different to our usual a la carte offerings, it was certainly indicative of the style and standard of both food and service we aim to deliver.

Our next wine dinner, featuring Wines of Australia, will be held in early May.

We hope to see you there!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corowa, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Imaginative offerings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at the hotel and were provided with a 25% discount voucher. A real blessing since we were travelling to do some work for a not for profit . The menu is interesting and the food was excellent. The flavours were well balanced and the presentation would rival master chef lol. There was a reasonable choice of wine. The service was excellent and attentive but not overly so that you felt hovered over. The setting looking over the bay is magic. It was also interesting reading about and trying the Black salt from whence the restaurant gets its name. A nice usp.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChifleyGeelongMgr, Manager at Black Salt Restaurant, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Wildfire57

Thank you for taking the time to provide you feedback on your recent experience of Black Salt restaurant.

We do offer a terrific menu and wine list with something to please all tastes. We offer our hotel residents a 25% discount off two courses when dining in Black Salt Monday to Friday. Terrific value!

We hope to see you back at Black Salt and Bayside Geelong soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lesson in excellence for other establishments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We could not speak more highly about this restaurant. The menus for both food and wine are well balanced both in price and variety and our choices were cooked to perfection from an obviously talented kitchen team. We particularly wanted to mention that the service from the front of house team was impeccable all night and we have found this level of service to consistently be the case over the approximately 5 visits over the last year or so. Some restaurants in Geelong Region could benefit from following their example with the training supplied to their front of house staff

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChifleyGeelongMgr, Manager at Black Salt Restaurant, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear KGGeelong

Many thanks for your glowing review of Black Salt!

We are delighted you have become regular diners with us and will be sure to pass on you comments to our team of chefs and floor staff who take great pride in delivering a high quality product and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Black Salt soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“amazing lunch special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I went for their $19.5 2 course lunch! It was amazing, so many options, hard to choose what to have, there was an option of a 3 course however 2 was more than enough food. Service was also lovely and efficient, which was especially amazing as they were completely full! Can't wait to go here again!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChifleyGeelongMgr, Manager at Black Salt Restaurant, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Britty1507

We are delighted you enjoyed our two course fixed price lunch for $19.90.

It really is terrific value and has gained enormous popularity. Be sure to book when you return again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Salt Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Black Salt Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Salt Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.