We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality of food - A great surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Telegraph Hotel

Telegraph Hotel
2 Pakington St | Geelong West, Geelong, Victoria, Australia
(03) 5222 2471
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 359 Restaurants in Geelong
Cuisines: Asian, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This pub has had a complete makeover about six months ago. They've done a great job doing up the building inside and the food and service are amazing.
Geelong
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Quality of food - A great surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Enjoyed a very delicious and plentiful lunch here with some friends. The variety and extent of dishes on the menu are particularly good, from normal pub fare to salads, curries, and quite unexpected dishes such as Moroccan tangine. With that and the daily specials there was something to suit everyone, even the fussiest of people (like myself who doesn't eat red meat and had heaps of choice). The deserts were amazingly good and very aesthetically presented. The service was a bit slow and we had to hail a waitress a couple of times but the place is not worth avoiding on that basis. NB: The portion sizes were very generous. Must be popular as the place was packed out on a Monday. That says a lot for the quality of meals!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Had a couple of excellent meals. The food was great. The interior is surprising - lovely, but you wouldn't necessarily realise this judging from the street.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“A friendly place to eat and drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

This is a place that can cater for a group of food lovers on a Friday night and have every member of the party happy with both the food and the wine (recommended by the house) as well. In addition we can visit on a Sunday for lunch with my son's three young daughters (twins plus 1), and not only feel welcome, but have the children looked after and spoken to as part of the group. It is a friendly place where the philosophy appears to be to make it a pub that is as much like being at home eating and drinking as a pub can be. All in all, a most pleasant, friendly place to go, made better by good quality, well priced food, and quite acceptable variety.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Take note pubs of Geelong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We had been meaning to visit the Telegraph hotel for a long time and finally on a cold rainy day we decided to give it a go. We only wish we had done so sooner!

They have a great range of beers on tap, great to see! The menu is extensive and the renovations make the venue feel homely and warm. Unlike other pubs in Geelong, this one realizes that it's not summer all year round and clearly they make an effort to make it feel cosy, therefore it is quite homely.

We had lunch, my partner had slow braised been in red wine and I had braised beef cheek with cauliflower purée. Both our meals were delicious, possibly a bit heavy, but really tasty and good quality. Presentation was also excellent.

We found the staff to be friendly, saying hello as you enter the bar (perhaps other bars in Geelong could take note of this, how unique providing friendly service!)

Overall we are sure to return, there are lots of other dishes I'm keen to try and given the price and welcoming atmosphere I'm happy to go back! Well done Telegraph Hotel!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“left hungry - disappointing experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We (2 of us) visited the Telegraph Hotel for dinner on a Monday evening (around 18:45), without a reservation. Upon arrival we were told that because they were busy, there would be a 30-40 minute wait for food. Incidentally the dining area was not packed - there were several empty tables nearby.

However, we decided this length of time for waiting for food was fair enough (given we hadn't booked), so we took a table...and waited.......And waited. It was about 15 min before we were even brought the menus or had a chance to order drinks. The waitresses were just totally ignoring us. After we finally got some drinks, it was then a further 30 min and we still hadn't been able to place our order. I paid for the drinks and we left. When I pointed out why we were leaving to one of the waiters, he said they had been told to stop taking orders! We weren't told about this when we decided to take a table.

If the kitchen is not staffed at the right levels on a Monday, they shouldn't be trading on a Monday. The hospitality industry should not be about letting people walk out of a venue hungry. I won't be going back.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Telegraph Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Telegraph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Telegraph Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.