We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to the (clean) 1970's” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sphinx

The Sphinx
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Geelong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sphinx
Save Saved
You added The Sphinx to your Saves list
2 Thompson Rd, Geelong, Victoria 3215, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Geelong
Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Welcome to the (clean) 1970's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Some of the earlier reviews on The Sphinx seem a bit harsh. It doesn't advertise itself as 5 Star, nor should it be judged against the upmarket chains.

The Sphinx offers clean, basic accommodation. You kind of get an early feeling from the positioning of a hotel in Geelong that is constructed around a replica of one of the Wonders of the Ancient World that this place is not going to be something from an architectural catalogue.

So, expect basic, clean accommodation. Also expect fittings that would not have been out of place in a yard sale run by The Brady Bunch thirty years ago. Everything works, but a trip to the homeware megabarn for some new furniture every decade or so would be in order.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    4
    2
    8
See reviews for
3
4
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed their for two nights,the rooms where nice and clean,food was great value for money,obviously a very busy bistro.location was very practical ,only 1 km out of city.will defiantly stay again.i found the staff to be very helpfully and friendly.i noticed they are constructing a golf coarse next door,great sleep,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca, Victoria, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Sphix disappointed our expectations,not at all like the website.My husband discribed it as a mudguard shine on top s--t underneath.At 2.45 arrived,we payed & was told the key would be in the door,got to the room not made up was told to come back in half hour,did that no key in door went back to reception she said"go & see the cleaner,"we did that & still no key so back we went,so finally we got it.
Open the door dust on top of the TV unit,ants as well,phone didn't work,hair on top of the toilet seat,floor looked average on & under the basin dust under it & along the floor to the toilet not clean,a moth sat there the whole time.Every day we asked for the room to be clean/sprayed.
No manager's on weekends to supervise,so asked a worker in the gaming room for complaints form,filled out & still haven't heard back.
It wasn't until I returned home that someone told me about this website,otherwise we wouldn't have stayed there(did ring 6 motel's before we could get a room ,they were the 7th so we took it at the time)
So if you are reading this message PLEASE take it on very good advise & consider what we had to say & have a better stay somewhere else.
As the amount you pay is not worth it,and the health inspectors& OHS factor's about the place should be reported.
Stayed January 2013,traveled with family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Pretty good meal, good for parties.First time I went here it had good food even though had to wait 1 hour for our meals at lunch when it was quiet. This time we waited an hour for our food then the waitress said sorry for the delay it should be on its way in 5 minutes then she came up 5 minutes later and asked what we had ordered and said did you order the lamb? but we had ordered the pasta and the chicken, final time she comes up and says your order was mixed up and wasn't even entered.

She says sorry and that she could take our order again if we wanted to and that's it, So after one hour of waiting for nothing we just left it was a disgrace. We will never go back and will tell everyone not to go here either.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

my girlfriend and i went here expecting a simple porterhouse and a beer and the service was appauling. apparently one of the blonde (and i do mean blonde) barmaids had her non existent hearing aid switched off. unable to hear "pot of draught" and"millers" and insisted they have no millers beer despite the fact its in the menu and right behind her. also wasnt even asked how i liked my steak cooked.

love the setting but the service is sub par due to staff who seem devoid of any intelligence.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I like most people who read or write these reviews like the honest feedback that warns us off sub-standard places. But to be fair, this place is considerably better than the reviews here. Which are fairly old. I stayed here for three nights a month ago and was genuinely worried by the reviews before I arrived. But on check-in the staff were great, actually, better than many expensive places.

So i then prepared myself for the scary accomodation that was coming my way!. I put my key in the lock, opened the door and.... smelled fresh paint! Yep this room had been refurbished and was amongst the better motel style rooms in Geelong.

The management here has done a fairly good job to make staying pleasant. I didn't eat here but others i spoke to did and reported that it was not bad at all. If you are looking for top shelf maybe look elsewhere. But The Sphinx does a good job of providing clean, secure and decent accomodaion as part of a good pub. Worth a go. :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

The only good thing about this hotel is the city its in.
I had the room with the "spa". Which was a rather disgusting bathtub with a few hairs inside.
The price they charge was just outrageous. Not really a place to come back to!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sphinx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sphinx

Address: 2 Thompson Rd, Geelong, Victoria 3215, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Geelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Geelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sphinx, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.