We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service not up to expectation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Antonio's On The Port

Antonio's On The Port
527 High St, Echuca, Victoria 3564, Australia
03 5482 6117
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 60 Restaurants in Echuca
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Service not up to expectation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Arriving with two children in school holidays we waited one hour for service. We felt staff were avoiding us as we tried to catch their eye. Eventually we had to go to the counter and ask if, although we could see they were busy, could the hungry children be served. They responded immediately, but the children had to wait an hour and a half after arrival for a meal. Far too long for young ones. Although the staff apologised later and said they were shortstaffed. I felt they could have forewarned us and at least been better prepared for school holidays. Food , when it arrived was standard.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoniosManager, Manager at Antonio's On The Port, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello,
All I can say is that we are indeed very sorry that you had this experience with us. This is not our standard of service and we are experiencing staffing issues at present. This does not excuse having to wait an hour for service and we hope to rectify this issue immediately. Thank you for your review as we utilise all our feedback for improvement in our Restaurant and if you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact us.
Kind Regards
The Manager
Antonio's on the Port Echuca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    42
    15
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Rissotto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Walked in off the street staff were pleasant pasta was great. Portion sizes were spot on. Reasonable prices

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoniosManager, Manager at Antonio's On The Port, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hello
We wish to thank-you for your lovely review. We appreciate all our feedback as this helps us to remain committed to our goals of providing an excellent dining experience from start to finish. When you are next in Echuca please be sure to visit us again and join our Birthday club for a great voucher on your next Birthday.
Kind Regards
The Manager
Antonio's on the Port Echuca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Not Good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Like any visitor they need to eat, seems like the country operators are all "people in business and not business people" At least we had a 50% record in this town as the other place we ate at was good.
The place was not that busy, about 20 seated, but we waited 15 to 20 minutes before someone came near us. Decided on pizza as person at next table was picking at her pasta. Waited some more for this to arrive, it looked good and tasted OK but they buy the base in so it's not authentic. Selected a local wine which was dreadful. Our visit was no so good sorry owner you can do better

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoniosManager, Manager at Antonio's On The Port, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello
Your comments regarding our pizza bases being "bought in" are unfounded and untrue! It is extremely upsetting when a reviewer such as yourself makes these false accusations without any knowledge of our Restaurant and practices. Our dough is handmade from scratch on our premises, left to rise, balled and rolled out by hand, and most nights made by our Italian Pizza Chef who has 25 years experience. It is insulting to him and our Restaurant when a customer informs other prospective patrons that our product is "bought in" and not authentic.
It is also a shame you did not enjoy one of our local wines, but as I am sure you read our wine list and noted it was quite extensive with local, national and imported wines. As you selected the wine yourself, I believe your criticism is better placed with the winemaker rather than our Restaurant. We pride ourselves on offering local wines and enjoy supporting our local winemakers and their products.
Although you believe our Restaurant did not meet your expectations, I request that before you review your next Restaurant you make sure that your statements are factual and not based on your assumptions, as well as only offering your critique on the products produced in the Restaurant and under their direct control.
Regards
The Manager
Antonio's on the Port Echuca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Dissapointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed across the road, could decide between Greek or Italian. Thought pizza would have to be good coming out of a restraunt . Took it my room.. Sorry guys it was a shocker ! Burnt crust but oily and soggy in middle. Took ages because guy made it wrong and had to start again..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoniosManager, Manager at Antonio's On The Port, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hello,
I am very sorry to hear that you received a less than satisfactory pizza. We would love to speak with you and make amends for your dis-satisfaction. You can contact us and ask to speak with the chef or owner and they will be happy to discuss this matter further with you. Again I wish to extend our apologies and hope we will see you soon.
Kind Regards,
The Manager
Antonio's on the Port Echuca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moama, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Went there with friends Saturday night & meals PERFECT, service PERFECT, atmosphere PERFECT, whole night PERFECT. Thank u all so very much

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoniosManager, Manager at Antonio's On The Port, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hello,
Thank-you very much for your lovely review. We are so glad you had a great night and everything was fantastic on the night. We enjoy our feedback immensely and the staff love hearing such positive reviews!
Please enquire about our Birthday Club on your next visit (If you haven't already!) to receive a great voucher for your next Birthday.
Kind Regards,
The Manager
Antonio's on the Port Echuca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antonio's On The Port also viewed

Echuca, Victoria
Echuca, Victoria
 

Been to Antonio's On The Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antonio's On The Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.