We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely cruise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of P.S. Emmylou

P.S. Emmylou
57 Murray Esplanade, Echuca, Victoria, Australia
03 5480 2237
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 Activities in Echuca
Type: Boat Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“lovely cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

So many paddlesteamers at Echuca, but we decided on a lunchtime cruise on the Emmylou as it went for a longer time.
The staff were very friendly & chatty. We were directed to the back deck when we boarded and were seated in the rear corner with shade from the upper deck (it was 36 degs!). The main course was delicious, and dessert even better.
It was a lovely relaxing cruise. Would recommend to everyone.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    11
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Echuca, Australia
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Vistors from Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We took the morning cruise with family members from Melbourne on Sunday and its was so peaceful on the River.
The boat was only 1 third full so it was easy to buy a Coffee and drink.
The commentary was great for our visitors.
Recommend to all who visit Echuca.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best Paddlesteamer on the Murray”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We took to morning 10am cruise on the Emmylou. We chose this vessel as it is the most attractive of all the boats on the river. It was a great experience to travel back in time to our pioneering days. The only thing I found disappointing was the scenery along the river, once you leave the old port there is not much to look at.

This is the sort of tour you book for the experience, not the scenery. We found our tour was a little short, 50mins as it departed late. Otherwise it was ok.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“All aboard ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We recently enjoyed a morning cruise and devonshire tea on the Emmylou paddle steamer in Echuca. We could not have had more perfect weather while the mighty Murray River looked its majestic best. The whistle of the paddle steamer made it all the more authentic and added to the ambience and nostalgia while the local bird song in the trees along the river and the gentle sounds of the paddles added to the experience. Thoroughly enjoyable way to spend an hour and a half and an experience not to miss !!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlengland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Pure nostalgia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We did the 1 1/2 hr cruise. The Emmylou is only 30 years old, but looks and feels authentic. The centre section of the ship is taken up by the 100 year old steam engine and the wooden logs used to fire it. From the gallery, you can watch the engineer stoking the boiler and see the engine in action as it powers the ship up and down the river. An enchanting sight. For those particularly curious, the captain allows visitors on the bridge. Great afternoon out for the whole family.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed P.S. Emmylou also viewed

 
 

Been to P.S. Emmylou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage P.S. Emmylou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.