We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cal, a clean country motel type accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caledonian Hotel

Save Saved
You added Caledonian Hotel to your Saves list
Caledonian Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caledonian Hotel
110 Hare Street, Echuca, Victoria 3564, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Echuca B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“The Cal, a clean country motel type accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Very happy for the price of $100 per room with a "continental breakfast" included - we were with a group which had 12 rooms. Rooms were very large, clean, our room had a queen and single and loads of space, small kitchenette (sink, fridge, bench) and 2 showers as we got a disabled room (we are not disabled but was not complaining). The hotel is a bit out of the main town strip but we ate in the hotel part of the establishment so it wasn't a problem - the special of the night was "steak night" - it was OK but for $17.00 - well you can't expect a gourmet meal at that price!! Service was proficient and the ability to divide the bills was most appreciated by all. We had a slight mix up as we thought we had the private room, but 2 groups with similiar names - got to be unlucky - we felt an unfortunate mix up but not a deal breaker. Parking is not secure (an extension of Woolworths parking really) but we had no problems. Yes we would stay there again. Staff were extremely helpful and you can't beat cleanliness.

Room Tip: there are rooms upstairs and downstairs if that matters to you. Ours was downstairs - no street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed in room 11 and the queen bed was so hard I thought I was sleeping on a rock! We were there for three nights and after 2 hours on the first night I had to sleep in the single bed because my back was so sore. So for a nice getaway for my husband and I we slept in separate beds. Very romantic! The room was clean however we found they were not forthcoming in replenishing tea and coffee each day. There was quite a bit of noise outside early each morning ? Found it odd that the couch was not situated in the room so you could view the tv. Had to sit on rock hard bed or at the table to see tv. Would not book accomadation at hotel/motel again. Will book at an apartment or motel next time. Still love Euchua. P and B from Geelong

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed here for one night with a group of 22 bikers , I was disappointed was that they had reduced our booking down from 9 rooms down to 7 rooms at the last minute despite having made the booking months ahead , also we didn't like that there is no secure parking, you are on a street and across the road from the Big W car park . However the rooms are spacious and the beds comfortable, our bathroom was large and clean. And everyone enjoyed their meal at the pub

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed one night, room was very spacious, modern decor. Hotel is close to shops and part of pub but rooms are very quiet. Staff were very helpful, would stay here again. Loved the bed, mattress very comfortable, had a great nights sleep.

Room Tip: Parking a bit tight if you have a 4WD.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed at the Caledonian for two nights just before Christmas with the family the rooms are currently being refurbished and are looking great. The hotel is located on top of a pub but we couldnt hear anything. The large room consisted of a queen bed and two single beds with digital TV and a decent bathroom. There was also access to a communal balcony.

The room was clean and comfortable and the hotel is situated right in Echuca with Coles just across the road and Big W behind the car park.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here many years ago, and while we were a little concerned about no secure parking and being oart of a pub with no clear separation for the accommodation section, there were no incidents so we decided to give it another try.

Unfortunately, nothing had changed - even the decor which really needs to be upgraded and the bathroom is well beyond its use by date. It was clean, but very tired and so looked dirty and the in-grained nould didn't help.

The locayion is good as far as the supermarkets and shops go, but it is a little too far away from the main tourist attractions that Echuca has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Bit of a suprise... I went in with a average expection and was impressed ! the room was massive with two queen beds, modern decor and newly revamped bathroom. Bed was very comfortable, Aircon/ heating was a nice quite split system, large tv, continental breakfast included, great water pressure and heat. what more could you ask for?
Oh had meal in Bistro, and it was good also!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Address: 110 Hare Street, Echuca, Victoria 3564, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Echuca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Echuca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Echuca, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caledonian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.