We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, excellent staff, excellent rooms.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Centre Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added City Centre Motel to your Saves list
City Centre Motel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   26 Forest St., Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Bendigo B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good location, excellent staff, excellent rooms.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Firstly, this is operated by the owner which is always a good sign. They have been very helpful towards our needs and as soon as you walk into reception, you know you are going to receive good service.
I have stayed at a lot of properties and most could learn a lot from Simon (manager) in regards to customer relations. It doesn't take much to be social and make guests feel at home.

The rooms are VERY spacious. Some contain a spa and I believe most contain a balcony. They are very clean and are fairly quiet. They contain an LCD TV (medium-large), small fridge/freezer, fast internet (Jimojo. You have to pay but it's reasonable) and upon request they might be able to offer a microwave.

I think properties like this one should be used as an example and a reminder of how a motel should be operated. I hope they don't change and continue offering the high level of service they offer today.

Thank-you Simon and partner! It's no wonder you are getting so many positive reviews.

Room Tip: Ask reception to see a room if you are unsure. They will be more than happy to help you out. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelbug11Australia, Front Office Manager at City Centre Motel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is very rewarding to know we are working in the right direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    6
    6
    9
See reviews for
6
10
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hay, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

A family member suffered a medical emergency and I was supporting him at Bendigo Hospital 'til 11:30 pm on a Friday night. My wife rang nine other motels in Bendigo to find accommodation for me without success; one of them answered the ‘phone then hung up without speaking when asked about accommodation.

The manager of the City Centre not only answered the phone at this late hour, but he stayed up ‘til I arrived, and then offered a risotto and a couple of beers at 12:45 am! After a very long day it was very much appreciated.

The room was clean, the bed comfortable, the location very central to the centre of town and we will definitely be back. Should be rated much higher on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelbug11Australia, Manager at City Centre Motel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We try to meet the needs of all our guests and appreciate that some people do require special things in times of need. We are more than willing to strive to provide a comfortable stay for each individual.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very friendly, spotless, quiet and just the best location. We'll be back again and again. The renovated room was very spacious, well aired and stayed cool on a fairly hot weekend. This one is a treasure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Recently stayed at this motel again, and we have stayed there several times. Excellent rooms, great location and a manager who really looks after his guests. Recently heard that the manager asked a small very roudy guests to leave after they refused to tone down the noise in the early hours - good on him, should be more of it!!. This probably explains some of the nasty comments on this website made by one group of guests (guess who?). Good to hear that this motel manager really looks after his guests!!! I travel often and recommend this motel highly, it is among my favourite motels in country Victoria.

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms are VERY roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The location is Brilliant we didn't need the car! The bed was comfortable, the staff friendly and the price perfect. Our room was unrenovated but large clean and central. The only downside was the walls were a bit thin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elwood, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This motel is in an excellent location right in the heart of Bendigo. We stayed in the unrennovated rooms which were pretty average, the heating didnt seem to work but just as well as in the middle of the night our room was like a sauna that had soaked up the heat generated by the neighbouring rooms. The walls were paper thin too and the slightest noise could be heard from the rooms next door, not too mention the early church bells of the nearby cathedral at 9am Sunday morning. We paid $115 through the hotels own website which was a cheaper rate offered than any other discounted accomodation websites. For a one night stay that needs you to be in the city centre this hotel is good for budget travellers.

Room Tip: Book directly through hotel's website
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My girlfriend booked us into this hotel when we came to Bendigo for the Grace Kelly exhibition. I was apprehensive after reading other reviews on TA but my fears were unfounded. Our room was large & clean. Staff were friendly & helpful. It was a Saturday night so it was a bit noisy. Main asset was it's location. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted go. Would have no hesitation staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Centre Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Motel

Address: 26 Forest St., Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Bendigo
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Bendigo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Centre Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your City Centre Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Centre Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.