We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Old Lady” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Langley Hall B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Langley Hall B&B to your Saves list
Langley Hall B&B
484 Napier St, Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Bendigo B&B and Inns
Brisbane Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Grand Old Lady”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed at Langley Hall for two nights in October and didn't disappoint. Anthony and Jenny were gracious hosts and we were lucky enough to have the run of the place to ourselves. Was great just meandering around and enjoying the eclectic collection of antiques and furniture. Anthony cooked up a wonderful breakfast for us and we felt like the lords of the manor! Gardens were beautiful and even got to feed their alpacas! Would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the property are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
24
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Lovely attractive upscale accommodations having a beautiful garden setting and having an inviting large parlor with an elegant banquet sized dinning room for breakfast on the first floor. It has an attractive foyer and entrance with beautiful stairs to the second floor and impressive bedrooms with large modern bathrooms. The entire accommodation has beautiful Victorian furnishings and you feel like you are a guest in a mansion. The owners - Anthony and Jenny are welcoming and attentive to providing the best. The breakfast was outstanding and their hospitality was warm and most welcoming.

Room Tip: All rooms have unique furnishings and also have had large modern bathrooms en suite to the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed with a friend at Langley Hall on 27 August and found it perfect in every way. The grand old mansion had been decorated beautifully, with lovely antique furniture and quality fabrics, without a feeling of being a museum. We were served a fabulous breakfast by the owners who were very warm and generous hosts. By far the best place to stay in Bendigo to experience the riches of the gold rush era and its legacy in this fascinating town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This was our 2nd time staying at Langley Hall and we loved it just as much as we did the first time. Anthony and Jenny are awesome and they are the perfect hosts offering suggestions for local restaurants and a great breakfast in the dining room. The Langley Suite is big and spacious and we love it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at Langley House a few weeks ago and were not disappointed. It's pretty special if you like grand old mansions. Jenny guided us in over the phone and she and the house were both a delight. The old house was built about 100 years ago for a Bishop and became a house for orphans who were probably well looked after from the look of it (fireplaces everywhere, so at least they didn't get cold). Jenny had the log fire going when we arrived. She gave us a rundown on the best places to eat, who to see (we were on business) and what to look at if we had any extra time. The more we talked to Jenny we realised just how amusing she could be. We never met her husband but he sounded nice too and I got the impression they both worked hard to keep the huge old mansion in shape.
The upstairs bedroom was giant and comfortable. It was warm and the electric blankets worked well. The breakfast we had was excellent, fruit cereal, blueberries even (lovely old dining room!) and they accommodated my wheat free and lactose free situation though it would have been easier had I told them in advance. The only criticism was the coffee was a bit weak but we were so happy we decided not to say anything as we know many people prefer it this way. Actually most people hate the strong coffee I always hate mentioning this unless it's a specialist coffee shop.
It's worth walking around the grounds and checking out Jennys two pet Alpacas. They're friendly but they are not animals for petting, apparently. Jenny saves the wool from them and is eventually going to make something, she hopes.
We liked this place so much we stayed an extra night, though we didn't spend as much time in front of the log fire as we would have liked.
We would highly recommend this place to people who like old buildings and a bit of history, and the gracious charm that goes with it.

Room Tip: It's possible the rooms fronting the main road are a bit noisy, though we didn't stay in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I had the pleasure of a nights stay at Langley Hall this week when in Bendigo for work. Jenny could not have been more welcoming despite the fact that I had no prior booking. The whole place was a delight. How lovely to share in the treasures of times gone by. Very special and already planning to revisit with friends

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be wonderful I am sure but is precious about noise perhaps ask for one at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were travelling from Mildura to Rosebud and were looking for a place to stay for one night on the way. We were so glad we chose Langley Hall. Jenny and Anthony were very pleasant and helpful hosts who gave good suggestions for our evening meal in Bendigo. Even though we were charged extra for the breakfast, it was such a lovely experience to be served in their elegant dining room. We were the only guests that night and had the whole place to ourselves - it felt as if we were the lord and lady of the manor. Loved the décor and loved the alpacas - we will definitely find an excuse to need accommodation in Bendigo again!

Room Tip: Be aware that you will need to climb stairs to the guest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langley Hall B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langley Hall B&B

Address: 484 Napier St, Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Bendigo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Bendigo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Langley Hall B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langley Hall B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.