We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not wrapped!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Masons of Bendigo

Masons of Bendigo
25 Queen Street, Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 149 Restaurants in Bendigo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: opened today, awesome, can't wait to review it - Bendigo's Cumulus?
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not wrapped!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Went to Masons as a 4 we were placed on a table with high stools to sit on, ladies not impressed - whats wrong with a nice table. No napiery, just the table top! Menu on the back of your place matt - a bit cheap considering the prices! Waiter wanted to be our best friend and was over familiar - we want you to be a waiter not our friend! Drinks were expensive considering what they were but did contain a local flavour - the house white was very ordinary and the owner shouldn't have put his name to it! Food was tapas style and we enjoyed the lamb, but were underwhelmed by the Pork,Scallops and Duck. I found it hard to justify charging $12 for some Pumpkin. The sweets were a Clafoutis which we found to be dry. Overall underwhelming and overpriced, or perhaps we picked a bad night!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    37
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Staff were knowledgeable, efficient and pleasant. The chef/owner showed his mastery and global experience in the kitchen with some great and unusual offerings with the stress being on sharing the food within the group. Local produce is highlighted. The restaurant was full for the Friday lunch which indicated its popularity. A restaurant which can be recommended for a special dining experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Super food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Mason's impressed all round. The manager was terrific - friendly and enthusiastic and he remembered our request to move to an inside table if any cancellations. The menu is based on a wide range of locally sourced produce - from specialist suppliers. Some tapas size meals and some full servings but all of them innovative and the quality was outstanding. Wait-staff were knowlegeable and attentive. We had the baked scallops, a quail and pistaccio terrine and shared the rib-eye with a local Heathcote shiraz. Coffees were very good - and it is hard to get a good coffee in most country towns!!
Would love to return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We went for our work Christmas Party Lunch. The food was amazing, service was great and I couldn' recomend it enough. We had the 8 courses and it more than enough food.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Fantastic service & food to die for. So hard to choice from an exciting menu, everything tried was wonderful. a truly original dining experience. Only drawback was the grungy ladies toilet.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masons of Bendigo also viewed

 

Been to Masons of Bendigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masons of Bendigo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.