We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, nice and clean.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sundowner Bendigo Golden Reef

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sundowner Bendigo Golden Reef to your Saves list
Sundowner Bendigo Golden Reef
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   186 McIvor Highway, Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Bendigo
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great staff, nice and clean.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I found the rooms to be nice and clean, tidied up daily. The staff really went above and beyond to make my stay comfortable and easy. I weekended in Melbourne and thought I would have to check in and check out but they were very accommodating and allowed me the same room on my return. Not the most central of locations but a quiet spot for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
8
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

The family had booked three rooms here as we all stayed for the Grace Kelly Exhibition in Bendigo. This motel is approximately 3 kms from Bendigo CDB and I was very happy with our room. In fact, the beds in all 3 rooms were very comfortable and the water pressure and availability of hot water was excellent. There is a pool onsite, but being May, it was pretty cold, so we didn't have a chance to test it out. I would definitely stay here again if I had the need. It's not fancy, but it has everything you need for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We had not booked and just rocked up and got a good price for a lovely room. We ended up with a spa suite and the bathroom was all brand new. Was a bit of a strange shaped room but all good. The staff were lovely and the room was very clean.

The hotel is located a little way out of the CBD and our TomTom took us to the wrong location as you need to enter the actual suburb in rather than just simply Bendigo. A quick call to the hotel for help and we were back on track. Was a lovely hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Stayed for 1 night for a weekend conference in Bendigo. 2 minutes drive from Bendigo CBD. The room was nicely decorated. Exceptionally clean and served it's purpose for somewhere quiet to sleep. No noise from other guests or the road. All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renmark, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

My family and I stayed overnight recently, and thoroughly enjoyed the facilities on offer. Clean, comfortable and quiet, the best things a motel can provide. The owners, Brook & Eugene, have achieved a very high standard of service, and the location is close enough for all Bendigo has to offer.
The family room we had was roomy, with a second bedroom for the kids, spacious bathroom (inc spa) and a toaster in the room, which is a great money saver for breakfast with kids when travelling.
Very reasonable rates.
I will definitely staying again when passing through Bendigo. And telling my friends about our stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

As far as these types of hotels go - this one was clean, modern decor (no daggy wallpaper or bedspreads) and even smelt clean! The bathroom appeared newly renovated - good supplies of shampoo etc. Fridge contained a mini-bar which was surprising. The staff/owners were friendly and helpful. The pool was clean and ok size for cooling off in.
Wel priced and compared to some highway hotels this was a pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: Choose one away from the pool and the big gum trees near the front entrance. The birds in the tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stayed at this property recently. Quite often book here when staing overnight in Bendigo. Pleasant and courteous staff. Room just what we needed for overnight stay. Very handy to a function that we were attending close by. Will no doubt stay at this location again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sundowner Bendigo Golden Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundowner Bendigo Golden Reef

Address: 186 McIvor Highway, Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Bendigo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Bendigo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundowner Bendigo Golden Reef 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sundowner Bendigo Golden Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundowner Bendigo Golden Reef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.