We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding anniversary visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bouchon

Bouchon
61 High St, Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
3 54445272
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 165 Restaurants in Bendigo
Price range: $12 - $34
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bendigo, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wedding anniversary visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful food in the French style with a most pleasant and helpful waitress. As meat is cooked to rare to medium it may not suit all tastes. The wine list is interesting with both French and Australian wines.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    22
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tres Bon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our party booked the whole restaurant and had a fixed menu- 3 share plates for entree, choice of two mains and three desserts. Loved all the share plates, especially the charcuterie plate. I had steak and hand cut chips for mains- steak was cooked nicely medium rare, although another person on my table had asked for rare steak and his was well done. The chips were unfortunately a miss. Poached quinces with creme fraiche were delicious. Choc pudding not so good. Very friendly staff/owner. Wine list needs some cheaper options I think, there was nothing under $40. Really enjoyed the vibe of this little Bendigo gem. I can't comment on the value because I don't know what the hosts paid, but it is a favourite of my brother who lives in Bendigo.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An absolute gem of a Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Came here for lunch and what a great find. The food was Devine and the service was brilliant. Wagyu was stunning and just melted in the mouth. The brûlée was exactly what it should be. This is high class dining and a great find in Bendigo. Do yourselves a favour an go. Happy travels. Richard and Graeme

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“French Bistro experience in Bendigo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

If you are visiting Bendigo, this bistro is a good choice for dining. The French charcauterie plate was excellent and we were very glad we had shared it as our entree. The bistro atmosphere is quite appealing and the staff were friendly and very knowledgeable. A delightful night out.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Victoria
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very nice.. Would highly recommend..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great service, lovely and exquisite food, not too bad prices. Just for the romantic couple. Wonderful!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bouchon also viewed

 
Bendigo, Victoria
 

Been to Bouchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bouchon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.