We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bendigo Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bendigo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bendigo Cottages
Save
You added Bendigo Cottages to your Saves list
13 Anderson Street, Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Bendigo B&B and Inns
Kerang, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We loved the Hyacinth coattage. Was a cosy and comfortable one bed room cottage with lots of privacy. Just what we wanted for our anniversary. Will be staying again, next time for a longer period of time. Breakfast was delicious and very filling.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn M, Owner at Bendigo Cottages, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your anniversary night at Bendigo Cottages. I agree it is a perfect place for a romantic getaway. Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We had a lovely 2 night stay on 2/3 Jan 2014 in the very comfortable and peaceful Robin's Nest cottage. Lovely breakfast and hospitality and beautiful garden. A perfect spot for walking into town through the botanical gardens or just over the hill (past the memorial to the widows of 19th century Cornish miners) to the Boundary Hotel for a great meal. We spent a great day in Bendigo exploring the Chinese Dragon museum (really worth a visit with an amazing collection of exquisite artefacts, as well as the enormous Sun Loong dragon coiled around the ceiling), the Joss House (with its knowledgable guide), the Deborah gold mine, Bendigo Pottery and the great cafes.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn M, Manager at Bendigo Cottages, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you Peter & Shona, so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Bendigo Cottages and in our beautiful city. Hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I've stayed here 3 times now, and every time has been a delight. Beautiful cottages, friendly owners, everything you need for a relaxed holiday. I will definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Bendigo.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn M, Owner at Bendigo Cottages, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi Jenny

It was lovely to have you stay in Rose Cottage again and pleased you enjoyed yourselves in spite of the heat! See you on your next visit from China.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed for one night on 26/11/13 in Hyacinth Cottage.
Cottage was roomy and comfortable, with separate bedroom, living room, kitchen and bathroom.
Was greeted on arrival with cold drinks which was great, as we had been driving for a couple of hours to get there from Melbourne.
The hospitality, service and breakfast were all great.
The location is convenient. It is close to the city centre (you can walk there), but far enough away to be quiet.
Would definately stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn M, Owner at Bendigo Cottages, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thanks you for your kind comments Kerri & Paul.
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and the lovely garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our second stay in Robin's Nest at Bendigo Cottages was just as good as the first, three years ago. While nothing has changed, it's hard to beat near perfection in service, quality, hospitality, comfort and convenience. Beyond this, the location suited us very well, being close to town. We were able to walk to the public pool, and to the Community Carols in Rosalind Park. Parking is easy and free. Breakfast, made to order was delicious. Best of all, as we were visiting family for Christmas, it was just nice having our own quiet space and somewhere we could just sit and enjoy a coffee or wine. We highly recommend the Cottages!

Room Tip: Robin's Nest is the most basic of rooms, so be prepared for a similar treat in the other two cot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn M, Owner at Bendigo Cottages, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hi John & Sue
Lovely to see you at Bendigo Cottages again. Thanks for the great photos in Robin's Nest.
Hope the rest of your holidays are going well. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My partner and I spent 2 wonderful nights in Robin's Nest cottage for a new year escape. The cottage was simply perfect our needs: roomy, comfortable and very well appointed, everything had been thought of- even loose leaf tea and a pot (as well as convenient tea bags). Breakfast arrived promptly and was hot and delicious. Dawn is an ideal hostess- friendly, available when called on but unobtrusive too. A big thank you to her for returning a phone charger we left behind! Accommodation details: The kitchenette is well stocked with crockery, glassware and a microwave if you want to prepare a simple meal in. The bathroom is well supplied with towels, flannels, soap and shampoo but bring your own shower cap and moisturiser. The hot water arrives quickly and the water pressure is good. The bed is soft but not uncomfortably so. There is a good size TV and stereo and sofa as well as chairs so plenty of options to sit and read or chat- the balcony is delightful if the mozzies don't get you! The cottage has fly screens, air con and ceiling fans. We found the place surprisingly cool even on a hot day and used only the fans. The decor is period country cottage but stops just short of being too chintzy. The location is ideal to walk down View St to the park or CBD, about 10 mins. You can park quite close to the cottages which are set in a very pretty garden. There are only a couple of cottages and though I gather there were other guests there, we weren't even aware of them. After only 1 night I was already recommending the place to strangers over dinner, and I will continue to do so!

Room Tip: Robin's Nest has a separate kitchenette and bathroom with a roomy combined lounge/bedroom and sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn M, Owner at Bendigo Cottages, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thanks Jo for your very concise review of Bendigo Cottages. Your lovely comments were a great way to start the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

What a delightful place to spend a few days,the comfortable bed,huge fluffy towels and breakfast delivered to your door in the morning.Not to mention the beautiful gardens and care and attention provided by an extremely welcoming,but unobtrusive hostess.Anyone one who runs a Bed and Breakfast should take tips from this operator!Thankyou for a most enjoyable stay,we look forward to returning and asking friends to join us!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn M, Owner at Bendigo Cottages, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi Jan

Thank you for your great review of Bendigo Cottages. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you when you next visit our wonderful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bendigo Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bendigo Cottages

Address: 13 Anderson Street, Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Bendigo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Bendigo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three charming miners cottages set in a delightful cottage garden setting.Full cooked breakfast served to your cottage.Rose Cottage (with spa) - large lounge room, separate bedroom, kitchenette and en-suite.Hyacinth Cottage - lounge room, separate bedroom, kitchenette and en-suite with gas log fire.Robin's Nest - studio cottage with kitchenette and en-suite. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bendigo Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.