We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault anything about this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seymours on Lydiard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Seymours on Lydiard to your Saves list
Seymours on Lydiard
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   302 Lydiard Street North, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Ballarat
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault anything about this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed in Deluxe room number 4 for two nights recently and were very pleasantly surprised by the size and quality of this room. Everything is very clean and feels more like a classy holiday apartment than a motel room. The hotel attached, is a charming 1850's classic with several areas to accommodate groups looking for various ambience. The upstairs verandah overlooking the streets of Ballarat was our favourite. We had a few meals during our stay and all were very yummy and reasonably priced. The staff in both the motel section and the hotel were very helpful and friendly beyond the call of duty. Summing up, we'll definitely be back and can highly recommend.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms were large with lounge area and the bathroom has a spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
15
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The reception staff were friendly and helpful upon arrival. We stayed in the large house as a team getaway, it was amazing. So roomy, the rooms were neat, tidy and clean. The kitchen facilities were fantastic, the bathroom was awesome, especially the double shower and huge spa. There were 2 toilets which was great with a large group. Overall it was such a comfortable style of accomodation.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Wonderful customer service. Rooms are well laid out and very clean. My daughter and I had a very enjoyable stay overnight and she absolutely loved the spa bath.There was also secured parking available onsite. The hotel itself is situated in an ideal spot approx 5 mins from the city centre.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverstone, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First impression of hotel from outside may put you off, but once inside your opinion will change.
The rooms were spacious and bright and modern
We would stay again if the opportunity arose again, we hope to come back.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade it doesn't hurt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Checking in was quick and easy .
Management/owner polite and helpful
Rooms large and spacious .
Six ladies in room 7, with kitchen amenities. Was like staying in apartment more than a hotel .
Meals can be delivered to your room or eat in the hotel attached to the rooms
All six meals came quickly and were all delicious .
Close to train station and not far from town centre .
Will definetly book this place again and recommend to family and friends .

Room Tip: Plenty of choices for room size accomm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeymoursLydiard, General Manager at Seymours on Lydiard, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Lear0b,

Thankyou for your excellent review. It was a pleasure having you and your group stay with us and we are thrilled to know you enjoyed it as well. Thank you for pointing out how large and spacious our family room is as it is great for our potential guests to read and it is great that you took the time to enjoy something from our award winning restaurant! If you guys decide to compete again next year we would love to have you as our guests again!

Kind Regards,

The Seymours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have to say that I have not experienced Service like this in a Hotel for a very long time... I travel extensively for work and am based in Malaysia but Leigh and his people are doing great work. The Pub has outstanding meals and again great service..

This is a highly recommended stop if you are in the Ballarat region, close to town and Ballarat's increasingly better Cafe scene it is very convenient... Clean Comfortable rooms, understanding and Keen people all make for a great experience... All for a very reasonable price...

Room Tip: This hotel has excellent options for families, from a 4 bedroom house to open plan rooms such as Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeymoursLydiard, General Manager at Seymours on Lydiard, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Antony T,

Thanks for your great review. It was a pleasure having yourself and your family staying with us on and off over a number of weeks. It was great getting to know them all and we are glad that we were able to help during what must have been a difficult time for you and your family. I hope you made it safely back home and caught up on some rest on what was a huge couple of weeks for you. We would like to thank you for staying with us and next time your back in Australia please call in and say hello!

Kind Regards,

Leigh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The first impression was very positive. It is about a 5mins walk from town so pretty central. We were greeted by Leigh who was one of the friendliest people we have met and he helped us with our bags of which we had many. Our room was very comfortable with an adjoining lounge area and kitchen. The bed was comfortable, shower was great and also we ordered room service and had dinner at the restaurant where the food was very good. Very satisfied.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeymoursLydiard, General Manager at Seymours on Lydiard, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Colin O,

Thank you for your excellent review and for pointing out how great the staff are! I just love passing this on to them (because I know how hard they work to try and ensure everyone enjoys their time with us!). I am glad you took the time to enjoy our fantastic restaurant as our regular guests always rave about how much they love the food! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and if your ever back in Ballarat we would love to see you all again soon.

Kind Regards,

The Seymours On Lydiard Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seymours on Lydiard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seymours on Lydiard

Address: 302 Lydiard Street North, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ballarat
#2 Family Hotel in Ballarat
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ballarat
#4 Business Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Seymours on Lydiard 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 4 star Motel with a variety of suites. Deluxe, Superior, Luxury Villa's and a 2 bedroom Family Suite. We also have a gorgeous 4 bedroom fully furnished house on site. Free undercover parking, free Austar and free WiFi. Guest laundry and room service is available. We also have a Hotel Restaurant/Cafe/Bar on site as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Seymours on Lydiard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seymours On Lydiard Ballarat, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seymours on Lydiard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.