We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Ambassador Motor Inn Ballarat

The Ambassador Motor Inn Ballarat
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Ambassador Motor Inn Ballarat to your Saves list
The Ambassador Motor Inn Ballarat
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   1759 Sturt Street, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Ballarat
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

The rooms need updating. The mirror in the bathroom was too high. The bed was so hard I think it would have been better to sleep on the floor. It was noisy and there were kids running around at 11pm. Should have paid the extra $30 and stayed somewhere nice. Really quite shabby and needs a clean up!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    2
    5
    2
See reviews for
3
17
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
About
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Because we were late booking and it was a busy weekend in Ballarat, The Ambassador was one of the few premises which still had rooms. As it turned out, it was not a good find and was relatively expensive

Located 5 km out of town, The Ambassador Motor Inn is not particularly convenient and is in need of renovation. The wall-mounted aircon/heater was out of reach and quite noisy, although it worked well enough. Room lighting was patchy and the curtains were partly off their tracks. The room was spacious and clean enough, but the fittings were older and worn and it seemed that not enough attention had been given to keeping everything in place and in proper working condition.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

I can't fault anything about this place. Clean, decent, easy to find. The one fault I can say, & that is only because I work in housekeeping, is that the housekeeper hadn't filled up the water jug & no milk in the fridge. Common mistake to make when under time limits. The room is very spacious aswell!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Queensland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had stayed at 'Golden Chain' recommendations previously and managed to get reasonable accommodation. Unfortunately we bombed out in Ballarat.

The room was less than inviting when we got in. Advertisements in the 'GC' Catalogue suggested the rooms at the motel had been refurbished. This seemed quite a distorted take on what we stayed in.

For a start, the toilet maintained a constant drip. The lid to the cistern of the toilet did not seal around the top, exposing the water tank. The wall air conditioning unit did not work and the freezer compartment in the refrigerator was limited in its capacity to freeze travel blocks.

The TV cabinet was very shabby with one panel of glass missing in one of the doors in the cabinet. The electric blanket did not work either. The television did work, however, it did turn itself off unexpectedly at 10.30 for some reason.

Won't be making the mistake of putting faith in the Golden Chain journal in the future. Rather disappointing stage of a great trip down south.

The cost for this room was quite exorbitant when compared to similar stays in other country towns along the way.

PJS, Brisbane

Room Tip: Avoid this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

It was a dark, miserable day when my boyfriend and I drove into Ballarat but the service we received at the reception of the Ambassador was warm and welcoming. The guy was very nice and had lots of helpful ideas of things we could do while in Ballarat, he even showed us the best way to get to the concert we were going to that night.

The room was simple but nice, we didn't need anything flash or expensive as we planned to be out and about exploring Ballarat, not sitting around inside all day.

The cleaner even made up our room when we dragged ourselves out of bed and out of the room after 11am one day. That sort of thing doesn't seem to happen, you need to be out by 8 or 9 to get the room cleaned, well that's what I've found at other places anyway.

I'm still surprised at the price we paid, it wasn't much for the service we received! Definitely worth it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aus
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here for 2 night with our baby son and found the staff friendly and really helpful. Rooms were clean and pretty spacious. Heating worked really well too. Highly recommended. We had Pizza at 'The Forge', which is just beside and it was excellent. Second night had noodles from the Noodle Box in town. Very, very plain - don't recommend at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Highly recommended cheaper end accommodation. Host is very friendly and rooms are clean. A pleasant stay apart from the Australian Men's 4 x 100m freestyle relay team not winning the gold! Situated on the outskirts of Ballarat within easy driving distance of downtown.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ambassador Motor Inn Ballarat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambassador Motor Inn Ballarat

Address: 1759 Sturt Street, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ambassador Motor Inn Ballarat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Ambassador Motor Inn Ballarat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ambassador Motor Inn Ballarat Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ambassador Motor Inn Ballarat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.