We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Competitions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Her Majesty's Theatre

Her Majesty's Theatre
17 Lydiard Street South, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
03 5333 5800
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 38 things to do in Ballarat
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Competitions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Wonderful vocal and dance competition. Great value for the audience, beautiful theatre to sit in and watch the stars of the future.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    13
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very special in the eyes of Australian theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This is the grandmother of Australian Theatres. It may not be as grand as the Opera Houses of Europe, but it's part of history in Australia is firmly placed. It is the only constantly working theatre in Australia and has been since 1875.

It is a jewel box theatre. Gilded with gold and green. There is a ghost or three and and the skeleton of a cat that was buried to protect the theatre and it's actors over a hundred years ago.

The staff are so proud of this beautiful treasure, as are every Australian theatre actor. Getting the chance to perform in this theatre is a gift in a theatre actors life. There are only a few truly beautiful theatres of this kind in Australia- The Theatre Royal in Hobart, The Civic Theatre in Newcastle, The Empire Theatre in Toowoomba, His Majestys in Perth and Her Majesty's in Ballarat.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Grand Building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

we went to see Les Miserables when it was in town and the were really impressed by Her Majesty's Theatre. It is a grand building and we were very comfortable and had a good view even though we were quite far back in the theatre.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“An Oldie but a Goldie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Her Majesty's Theatre is used as one of the venues for the Ballarat Organ Festival in January each year and is very suited to music performances. The seats are raked meaning you can see even from the back. a special delight this year was seeing the old Theatre Organ being played with Tony Fenelon providing all the sound to accompany two Tom and Jerry cartoons. Great Stuff!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Fantastic theatre, with old fashioned charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

I attended performances twice at Her Majesty's in 2011, and was very impressed with the old Theatre.

At first I was a bit skeptical, as I had several drama's trying to book tickets on the website, and ended up having to call through and book over the phone. Thinking "if they can't get the website working effectively, I wonder how poor the facilities will be", I went in, and was surprised and impressed, at the charm, and character of the place.

The staff were friendly and very helpful, the venue was clean, well laid out, and easy to navigate.

Highly recommend to anyone visiting Ballarat, to make sure they take in a show at Her Maj.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Her Majesty's Theatre also viewed

 
Ballarat, Victoria
Ballarat, Victoria
 

Been to Her Majesty's Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Her Majesty's Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.