We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Inn to your Saves list
Lake Inn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1317 Mair Street, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Ballarat
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Big room, modern deco, very comfortable bed. A short walk to the beautiful lake. Very quiet. Bathroom is clean and spacious too. A restaurant on the site, very popular. We will definitely come back. Have to book early for this place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    22
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
27
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a quiet, modern and spotlessly clean. It was a pleasure to stay here. There is a hotel
Connected to the motel where we had a delightful meal in front of a wooden fire. Seniors rate was $161.00 for the night, booking through best western website.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarrawonga, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Best Western Lake Inn Ballarat.
Mid June 2013.
Ballarat Hotels and Motels have improved a lot in the last few years and this is one of the best.
We had booked a 3 night deal in an executive room for a good price.
Apparently the motel section is 12 years old but to me it seemed a lot newer.
The motel is part of the City Oval Hotel and Restaurant but is built in such a way that the Hotel does not intrude. It is very easy to pop in for a drink and a meal though.
We were welcomed by the relief Manager Michael. A very pleasant man who knows how to make people feel welcome.
The guest room was a good size, bed was comfortable and the bathroom excellent with a lovely walk in shower. Airconditioning worked extremely well. Could be the best 4 star motel we have stayed at in Ballarat.
One tiny issue was the Bathroom fan. One of those noisy older fans that switched on with the light.
We got used to it after awhile or turned the hall light on instead for a break.
Plenty of parking in the courtyard in a town noted for its abysmal parking.
A stay at this motel will not disappoint you.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are more convenient for older guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed for two nights in room 11. Very nice room, large and spacious. Very modern and clean. Walking distance to lake and yacht club. Easy drive into main area of ballarat and local attractions. Staff very helpful, especially michael who kindly took my washing out of the dryer after I had uses the washing machine, and even delivered it folded to our room whilst we were out sightseeing.
Did not use the restaurant on site but did visit the bar.despite being on site, had no disruption or noise from it. Overall pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at the Lake Inn last week and thought it was wonderful : spotlessly clean, spacious, warm, beautiful bed, and very quiet. But we thought the notice above the sink was very unusual, actually quite amusing, but a little irritating. We've never, in many years' experience, all over the world, encountered a request to wash the dishes before we left, or been threatened with a $50.00 surcharge, applied to our account if we neglected to do so. I always quickly rinse dishes before leaving accommodation, but thought that, in the interest of complete hygiene, it would be expected that a properly trained staff member should attend to that chore.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Vic Australia
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The room and facilities were very good and the bed comfortable. The jarring thing for us was the noise of music and singing from the bistro. We were in room 15 on a Saturday night and, returning from a function just after 9.30pm were alarmed to hear the music and singing penetrating clearly into our room and it went on until midnight. The office closed at 8.30pm and it wasn't until the morning when I complained on checkout that we were advised we could have called to complain at any hour as the owners lived on the premises. We can't understand how they weren't aware of this problem previously. Apart from this we liked the property and will likely try it again in the future avoiding that particular room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room well away from the bistro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

One overnight stay in room 8 which was well decorated and modern in design. Room itself and shower room were both clean and pleasant to use. Room facilities were good too. Good breakfast menu that can be delivered across a range of times - the latest time being 9am. Attached restaurant/bar useful too. Staff helpful and friendly in both places. Level access to the lake - 5 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Room 8 was on the ground floor at rear of building and was quiet. Parking outside room but not exclu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Inn

Address: 1317 Mair Street, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ballarat
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ballarat
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lake Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ballarat
Ballarat Best Western
Lake Inn Ballarat, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.