We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boatshed Restaurant

The Boatshed Restaurant
Wendouree Parade, Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #125 of 218 Restaurants in Ballarat
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: On Lake Wendouree in the centre of Ballarat.
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Relaxing lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We have dined here on many occasions and have never been disappointed. A table in the sun lounge section over the water is a must, the sun coming in and the spectacular views over Lake Wendouree gives the most relaxing atmosphere to enjoy a family get together. The menu is not huge but a good variety on offer, the staff are excellent and very attentive. A must visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    27
    14
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great location good enough food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This resturant has a lovely aspect of looking across the lake from almost anywhere you sit. The service was good and food adequate. Calamari tender and well presented. Fish and chips OK. Linguini and little too creamy for my taste. Wine excellent. A great place to talk and relax.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Return Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Earlier this year we had a lovely lunch and really enjoyed the view across the lake. This time we dined on a Saturday night with our young Swiss friends. On a cold and wet evening, the restaurant was warm and welcoming. We shared starters - the calamari was cooked beautifully. We then all had different mains (fillet steak, lamb shank, salmon & chicken) and were all happy with our choices. The food was flavoursome and presented nicely. Service was good and there was an appropriate break between each course. Three of us had different cakes for dessert and all were yummy! We felt the meal was also good value.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amphitheatre, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had lunch in the Boatshed this week and enjoyed all aspects especially the view. Design was good and also the service. Food was quite good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“An absolute country gem - must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Great location, outstanding service, good food & an extensive wine list - what more do you need - agh that's right good value too!!!

Wheelchair access is fairly easy with a small metal ramp (slightly steep) at the front door & I am not sure about the toilets.

We were there on Friday lunch & the place was full by the time we left.

We will definitely go back next time we are in Ballarat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boatshed Restaurant also viewed

 
Ballarat, Victoria
Ballarat, Victoria
 

Been to The Boatshed Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boatshed Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.