We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every visit better than the last! Staff are amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballarat Lodge and Convention Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ballarat Lodge and Convention Centre to your Saves list
Ballarat Lodge and Convention Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   613 Main Rd, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Ballarat
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Every visit better than the last! Staff are amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My friend and I have been travelling to Ballarat for almost five years every three or so months for an overnight stay. We spend the day at the Sanctuary Day Spa where the wonderful staff pamper us from head to toe. After that it's pre dinner cocktails at the bar - the staff here really are terrific, we're welcomed like family and nothing is too much trouble. We then have dinner in the restaurant which truly is a highlight, the food is delicious and once again, staff here do their very best to ensure that everything is satisfactory. The grounds are gorgeous and if there is a down side it's the rooms that do need to be upgraded, but apart from that, the warm friendly staff make every visit a memorable one. Everything is located on site - we park the car when we get there and don't need it until we check out! I've even brought my husband for a night away and plan on bringing the whole family. I highly recommend this awesome hotel, I cannot speak highly enough about the staff who are friendly, courteous, professional and very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    152
    89
    32
    16
See reviews for
89
197
19
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Hotel had nice grounds, but need a little attention in the gardens.
Rooms were nice and cosy.
Very friendly and helpful service upon arrival.
The 'gym' is the only thing that is a real let down. I got a key from reception that would not open the door because it was damaged. All or most of the equipment is unsuitable - meaning broken and dangerous. I suggested it needs be looked into before someone really gets hurt. It should be closed until the issues are addressed. This was the only disappointing part of my short stay as it was chosen based on the fact it advertised a gym.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We arrived in Ballarat with no accommodation booking and looked at the options on a few websites. Based on the photo of the hotel by lake and gardens, we booked and checked in. The reception and restaurant/bar area had an old world charm which we hoped would be reflected in the room. We booked a spa room for an extra $40. Sadly, we were disappointed by the room. It was set in a nice quiet garden but the room was so tired and in need of an upgrade that we felt we wasted our money. The spa was so tiny and squashed into a corner beside the shower that it was in no way romantic or enjoyable. The room was small, dark and dingy.

Room Tip: Don't bother with a spa room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

At last night's 'ball' the meal was inadequate. Two meals out of four were ordinary. The lamb dish had 2 tiny carrots and a smear of eggplant- this is hardly an adequate serving of vegetables. The chocolate cheesecake tasted and looked like a wedge of gelatine!
I hope our money mostly went to the band 'Mad Cow' because they were a highlight and great fun.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a great hotel in the main centre of Ballarat, it has easy access to the CBD and to attractions, it is easy to find and the hotel is set amongst a great garden setting. We were checked in with ease and also out, the staff were friendly and help full and we had a peace full stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I felt the place was run down and I really felt the room was unclean. For the money no way would I stay there again. If I had of paid under $100 then that would have been ok. Dinner was over priced and so was breakfast.
The heater in the room blew out cold air so I was cold all night with my family. If I had of known I would have used different accommodation.
Don't Bother!!! with this one.

Room Tip: use a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballarat Lodge and Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballarat Lodge and Convention Centre

Address: 613 Main Rd, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ballarat
#5 Spa Hotel in Ballarat
#8 Business Hotel in Ballarat
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballarat Lodge and Convention Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for Ballarat accommodation, the Ballarat Lodge is ideally located and offers the perfect balance of both business and leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ballarat Lodge and Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballarat Lodge And Convention Centre Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballarat Lodge and Convention Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.