We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THANKYOU BELL TOWER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bell Tower Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bell Tower Inn to your Saves list
Bell Tower Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1845 Sturt St, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Bell Tower)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Ballarat
melbourne
1 review
“THANKYOU BELL TOWER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

I had read the review from feb 2007 whilst looking for a place to stay and felt I had to try this hotel for myself. For us it was exactly the opposite with all staff, management, rooms, food and pool. upon arrival and during our stay the reception staff could not do enough for us in getting the royal auto club for help,directing us to places for us to visit. The Manager had been told of our predicament without a car and offered his so we could continue our sight seeing around ballarat, which I believe is far and beyond his call of duty.Our stay at this hotel was excellent and all staff and amenities were great and a special thanks to the Hosts Rob and Lyn for helping us have a most memourable stay in Ballart keep it up, great work

  • Liked — the cleanliness and hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    24
    15
    14
    7
See reviews for
18
20
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
1,388 reviews 1,388 reviews
329 hotel reviews
Reviews in 378 cities Reviews in 378 cities
3,147 helpful votes 3,147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2008

The Bell Tower Inn is a larger motel geared for conferences.

My accommodation was adequate, but the focus really was on meeting the others in my group.

Accommodation cost A$100; the 'day delegate' rate was A$49.50 which I felt was steep; the 'half day delegate' rate was A$30; breakfast was A$14 and dinner A$38.50, so it added up to A$232 - not cheap.

However places like this rely on those who are not paying directly for their own costs, as in conference delegates, so that explains the pricing structure.

  • Liked — Well organised for conferences
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaconsfield, victoria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2007

the bell tower claims that it is a 4 star motel, let me tell you it could not be further from the truth. lets start with the rooms, not very clean but if you want to take a trip back in time to the late 70,s this motel is for you. the front desk staff are pleasent if a little strange and not very helpful, indoor pool was ok but not exactly warm, and the manager of the motel was one of the rudest men i have come across, i say that because myself and my family who in total had booked 9 or so rooms had the cheek to tell us to get back in our rooms when we were standing outside having a ciggarette as our rooms were non smoking after giving us, that is all adults in our 40,s and 50,s a lecture on how the other guests are more important than us, and believe me we were not loud or making trouble. obviosly a man with many issues .that said the breakfast was very nice, but that was the only high point. but unless you like 1 star motels and rude staff, think twice.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — the manager
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2003

The layout of the motel was excellent, rooms clean and nice. Best of all was the service of the restuarant staff with fantastic food and a friendly attitude.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bell Tower Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Tower Inn

Address: 1845 Sturt St, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Bell Tower)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bell Tower Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
67 Ground floor rooms with a variety of rooms to choose. Restaurant and Bar, indoor heated pool, breakfast room, function and conference rooms. We have it all!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bell Tower Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ballarat
Bell Tower Inn Ballarat, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bell Tower Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.