We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mid City Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mid City Motel to your Saves list
Mid City Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   19 Doveton Street North, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Ballarat
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Standard motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

For a one night stay the rooms are comfortable and our unit had a separate bedroom which was good. The rooms though are dated and in need of a good renovation. Bathroom is adequate although only one of us had a hot shower in the morning before the water ran out.
Staff were friendly and helpful and the included breakfast was mostly good. The hot food was well over cooked.
Location is excellent for shops and restaurants and noise was minimal despite being right near a main road.
It is surprising it is rated as a 4 star motel. A good two to three star value seems more realistic.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    24
    4
    9
See reviews for
14
16
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Two night weekend stay in Ballarat for a local beer festival. Mid City Hotel is a classic basic motel complex with not much to offer other than a good, accessible location in central Ballarat, which is easy walking distance from the main city centre shopping and dining district. The room was small and suck in 1960s/70s fashion. The bed wasn't too comfortable and the services were very limited. The TV reception in our room was terrible. We didn't have any problems during our stay there, but had hoped for a little more given the price paid. It would be ok it you just need a place to crash for the night.

Room Tip: A ground level room is always better in a motel complex like this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Good room size,average fittings, poor sound insulation. This is definitely not a 4 star motel.
There was some confusion over our booking - they had us down for the following night but the paperwork from lastminute.com had the correct date. Thankfully I had the paperwork with me. On departure they mistakenly looked up the room next door and tried to charge for 2 nights and breakfast!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This is your standard ordinary motel. The rooms are fairly clean, but rather dark with old furnishings. Good-sized parking area, if that is a consideration. Breakfast was adequate, and hotel staff service was ok. Nothing exceptional; a 2-star property.

Location though is excellent if you want to be near shops and restaurants. Even when our conference adjourned late, there would always be an open place to eat within walking distance, which is an advantage in smaller Aussie towns. It is this average motel's location which is its redeeming feature.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

This motel is very well postioned for what we required, and apart from our first room stiinking of smoke (a non smoking room), the value of the 'breakfast package' was good.
However, this motel rates itself at 4 out of 5 on the wotif.com.au website and this is quite unreasonable. The two rooms we used were of a 2 or 2.5 star standard. This is not to say that they were unacceptable, as they were clean and served our purpose, but they are dated and worn.
It is a pity that properties like this one mislead us with inaccurate ratings and also advertised a heated pool, which was far too cold to use.
It is also imperative that properties ensure rooms are absolutely non smoking.

Room Tip: Should be 2 stars. Needs freshening up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We booked family rooms even though we were just couples. It came with a continental breakfast deal.

The rooms were a good size for us as a couple, but maybe a little tight with two children and quite dated but in a quaint cosy kind of way. Ballarat was freezing cold but the heating in the room was excellent. There was a shower over a rather shallow bath with a fixed screen at the side, which may be a little awkward if you were trying to bath slippery babies or toddlers.

We were upstairs and the noise of people walking past our room was quite loud, but the traffic walking past died down early enough.

We struggled to get the TV working properly and we didn't go searching for instructions.

Due to renovations, the breakfast did not include danish pastries or croisants as advertised and the service wasn't the best, but we were kindly compensated with a cooked breakfast.

The receptionist who checked us in and the one who checked us out were both very professional and helpful. Their professionalism created more of a four star feel to our experience. On checking out, before serving us, there was a rather aggresive woman complaining about the breakfast, but I thought the receptionist handled her complaint with poise and dipomacy.

This property is a good choice for the budget traveller who wants a bit of quality. The bed was OK and the shower OK. Bring your own hairdryer because the one in the bathroom makes a lot of noise but not enough power.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

its a nice place to stay for weekends.
Its quiet and calm... plus very close to few shopping places, we had lots of fun shopping there.
Had good food too.
a must visit to be away from city life.

Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mid City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mid City Motel

Address: 19 Doveton Street North, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mid City Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Mid City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mid City Motel Ballarat, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mid City Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.