We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Offers that bit extra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballarat Central City Motor Inn

Ballarat Central City Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ballarat Central City Motor Inn to your Saves list
Ballarat Central City Motor Inn
16 Victoria Street, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Flag Inn Central City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Ballarat
South Australia, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Offers that bit extra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Booked this accommodation last minute when we were only about an hour away - based the decision entirely on price - what a great surprise we got! The room was absolutely spotless, added bonus of microwave (mini kitchen type facilities) terrific shower. Delicious economical cooked breakfast the next morning. Right in the city centre but not noisy at all. Hosts were fantastic - will be on the top of the list if/when we are travelling that way again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralcity, Manager at Ballarat Central City Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks Lisa. It's pleasing to know you enjoyed yourself in Ballarat. We enjoy keeping our guests happy. Thanks for the positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    33
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
24
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Spacious and well appointed room, balcony was a plus despite the wet and cold weather. Close to the centre of town and other attractions. Will definitely stay here next time we are in Ballarat. Staff were very accommodating when we realised that we had not made the on-line booking specific enough for our needs.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms have nicer outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralcity, Manager at Ballarat Central City Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Mark it was our pleasure to help you out. We trust you enjoyed the view from the room. Thanks for the great feedback and hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is a very well-run motel, not on the luxury end of build and facilities but well above the basic functional. I spent 3 nights in a good-sized, comfortable and clean room; no problems with road noise, as well insulated as possible from noise in the adjoining rooms, great heating for July, and nice breakfasts. Shane is a very welcoming host who gave me a helpful briefing on the nearby facilities (FWIW, the Leagues Club restaurant behind Coles and the fish and chips takeaway next to Coles are excellent). The location is great for walking to the centre of town and it's a short drive to Lake Wendouree. No complaint about value for money. They worked hard to make it an enjoyable stay and I hope they get the good recommendations they deserve.

Room Tip: Parking is outside the door, which is unavoidable and not a deal-breaker, but an upstairs room doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralcity, Manager at Ballarat Central City Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Leigh, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the feedback. Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great location- close to city centre, cosy & quiet, comfortable bed, excellent heating- we were lovely & warm all night & wouldn't even have known the temp was -0 outside, continuous hot water in shower, good water pressure, meticulously clean room and bathroom, great balcony, Shane went out of his way to accommodate my family after an error with a third-party accommodation website, Shane & his wife were welcoming and friendly and I would not hesitate to recommend this motel to anyone requiring accommodation in Ballarat, very impressed, thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralcity, Manager at Ballarat Central City Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Olivia it was our pleasure to get you out of the pickle you were in. Thankfully everything went well for you and most importantly you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Room are spacious,
very very clean
and nicely renovated.
Walk to town. Off street parking.
We really enjoyed our stay. Despite being on the main road it was surprisingly quiet
Pleasant staff
Really comfy beds and pillows
Comfy even though it was freezing outside

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralcity, Owner at Ballarat Central City Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to respond. We are glad that you found the rooms really comfortable, warm and quiet.
Kind regards
Shane and Salina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great value for money. The rooms were very new, looks like there has been a major renovation. We were on the second floor facing the main road and the room was still very quiet. Breakfast was the best motel breakfast that we have ever had, and the price was very reasonable. With the Motel being so central there were numerous places within a very short walk to have a meal at.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor facing the street and had no problems with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralcity, Owner at Ballarat Central City Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for the lovely compliments regarding our motel rooms and especially our breakfasts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

this hotel is clean & it's got everything u needed. we booked on their website they didn't charge anything up until we checked out. close to everything pizza hut is just across the road. sovereign hill & the gold museum just few minutes away by car. only it's on a service road so sometimes you have to drive out on the other side just to get there.
free safe ample parking, bed is good, heating is good & shower is very strong...I would come back & stay in this hotel again....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralcity, Manager at Ballarat Central City Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the rooms to be clean, comfortable and in a central location. We look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards Salina and Shane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballarat Central City Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballarat Central City Motor Inn

Address: 16 Victoria Street, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Flag Inn Central City)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ballarat
#6 Family Hotel in Ballarat
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trip to the Goldfields Region is never complete without a stop in one of Victoria’s oldest towns, Ballarat. Ballarat Central City Motor Inn offers accommodation in the heart of the historic Bakery Hill precinct and is a short stroll to the city centre, restaurants, cafes and shops. With magnificent views of this historic city from the balconies, the property is close to all major attractions that Ballarat has to offer. Whether you are a corporate traveller or tourist in Ballarat, the Central city offers quality accommodation with warm, friendly and professional service. Our recently refurbished rooms offer kitchenette facilities, wireless internet and Austar. Spa rooms are available and we have secure off-street parking. The indoor heated pool/spa, guest BBQ and guest laundry will ensure your stay is a comfortable, convenient and enjoyable experience. We offer a full breakfast menu (our cooked breakfasts speak for themselves) and many of the restaurants nearby offer a chargeback facility with our motel. With a range of accommodation options from standard rooms to the fully self contained apartment, why not stop awhile and savour what Ballarat and the surrounding district has to offer, then relax at the end of the day with a drink on the balcony and watch the sunset over this magnificent town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ballarat Central City Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballarat Central City Motor Inn Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballarat Central City Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.