We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy on a Very cold Night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ballarat Central City Motor Inn

Ballarat Central City Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ballarat Central City Motor Inn to your Saves list
Ballarat Central City Motor Inn
16 Victoria Street, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Flag Inn Central City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Ballarat
Melbourne Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cosy on a Very cold Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Nice convenient motel, close to city centre, very reasonable price, warm on an icy nite, VERY clean, friendly people. Definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    33
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
24
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

We stayed here for two nights last weekend, good location and nice, clean rooms although a little on the small side. Great to have a toaster and microwave and the heating was very welcome. Great housekeeping.

Advertised as Wireless internet but when we asked we were given a cable? which we then had to jump over and under for two days to get to the fridge!

Within walking distance to Ballarat Leagues Club where we had a great meal, in a nice dining room with an open fire. Also walking distance to Beechworth Bakers, McDonalds, Pizza Hut and other restuarants, and a short drive to Soverign Hill.

My son loved the indoor heated pool, and I used the guest laundry.

We were pleased with our stay in this motel. It is on a busy road but we didn't really hear the noise (we were in room 1 right next to reception) I think the rooms facing the road might hear the noise.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

We spent a night in Ballarat and wanted somewhere central as we were on foot having arrived by train.

Room was on the small side but quite adequate for us..very clean and nicely furnished. Included a small microwave and toaster. Great light blockout curtains which completely covered the windows...why aren't all motel curtains like that??

Bed firmish but comfortable. Only downside was that it was a little noisy with traffic, but nothing that ear plugs didn't fix.
Our room was up a flight of stairs but there are ground floor rooms available.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. For those that love a good coffee,..... go to Java cafe..in the street that runs from Sturt street towards the station..they are the best in Ballarat (hard to find a good coffee!)

  • Liked — Very clean...and the curtains!!
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2004

Quite nice and not too pricey Ballarat accommodation. Would definitely recommend. Rooms not overly big, but very comfortable. Some with balcony. Very good location too, at the east end of town, with McDonald's, Pizza Hut, Domino's and other eateries nearby.
Definitely worth trying. :)

  • Stayed August 2003
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballarat Central City Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballarat Central City Motor Inn

Address: 16 Victoria Street, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Flag Inn Central City)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ballarat
#6 Family Hotel in Ballarat
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trip to the Goldfields Region is never complete without a stop in one of Victoria’s oldest towns, Ballarat. Ballarat Central City Motor Inn offers accommodation in the heart of the historic Bakery Hill precinct and is a short stroll to the city centre, restaurants, cafes and shops. With magnificent views of this historic city from the balconies, the property is close to all major attractions that Ballarat has to offer. Whether you are a corporate traveller or tourist in Ballarat, the Central city offers quality accommodation with warm, friendly and professional service. Our recently refurbished rooms offer kitchenette facilities, wireless internet and Austar. Spa rooms are available and we have secure off-street parking. The indoor heated pool/spa, guest BBQ and guest laundry will ensure your stay is a comfortable, convenient and enjoyable experience. We offer a full breakfast menu (our cooked breakfasts speak for themselves) and many of the restaurants nearby offer a chargeback facility with our motel. With a range of accommodation options from standard rooms to the fully self contained apartment, why not stop awhile and savour what Ballarat and the surrounding district has to offer, then relax at the end of the day with a drink on the balcony and watch the sunset over this magnificent town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ballarat Central City Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballarat Central City Motor Inn Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballarat Central City Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.