We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Basic Accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alfred Motor Inn

Alfred Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alfred Motor Inn to your Saves list
Alfred Motor Inn
1843 Sturt Street, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Ballarat
Horsham, Victoria. Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Basic Accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have stayed in this motel twice in the past 3 months. It is clean, quiet, has as good as any older,budget motel facilities and the hosts are very willing to help you in any way. They open very early and provide a great cooked breakfast. Not too far from the Hospitals and a good family motel.

Room Tip: End rooms were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

After previuosly being burnt in Ballarat thought I would a little more research. Was just looking for something at a reasonable price as was traveling solo on this occasion. Website photos looked impressive but thats where it ended. This place urgently needs a makeover & has some real maintenance issues. The external pictures have been well & truly air brushed - 1st impression was the place would be shabby. Wasnt let down in that regard. Heater didnt work & shower appeared that housekeepers had forgotten to clean it if the hair in it was any indication. Unfortunately I left some biscuits on the bench overnight & next morning the MICE had enjoyed my hospitality. Its is also terribly noisy(road traffic) at the front. I suppose the positive was its cheap & the real negative - NASTY

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Undera, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We have stayed at this motel a couple of times for short breaks to Ballarat. We come back because the price is very affordable and the two bedroom family rooms are big, clean and comfortable. We had electric blankets on all beds, and suffered no road noise.

One time we left behind a couple of pillows. Staff were very nice to follow up with us and we were able to pick up our pillows before leaving Ballarat later that day.

Its a bit far out of town, so you need to drive to everything, but other than that it is a nice little motel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Rooms are outdated & in need of modernisation to get get them into this century & externally has very little appeal. Very cold on night of visit so an electric blanket that was in working order would have been handy. Very noisy in rooms as its adjacent to traffic lights & the hoons taking off drive you mad. Each time you managed to get to sleep another hoon taking off ensured a sleepless night. Just what you need when you are working the next day and probably the worst part was the bloke running the show couldnt really give a stuff. Fortunately there are plenty of other options, so will try one those next time.

Room Tip: dont think there would be a "good" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Went to Ballarat to attend a wedding and we asked could we check in earlier than usual and was meet on the phone with a friendly yes! The family room was clean and they even had a microwave and a hair dryer that actually works. The staff were friendly and provided plenty of information in the rooms about the area. We would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Booked via Wotif for 2 nights. Was able to check in before the official check in time - friendly service and was offered a map of Ballarat and fresh milk. The room was large with a queen + single beds, clean, everything in working order and they encourage you to reuse towels. Wifi was handy too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

We stayed here for just one night while in Ballarat to see the Rugby. The room was quite large with a queen bed, sofa, bench & chairs and plasma TV. The bathroom was quite spacious, with the vanity just outside the bathroom (was also used as the sink). The room was very clean and bed was comfortable. The pool and BBQ area were just outside our room which was great if we were staying longer, especially as it was quite warm. The room had air con and heating. There was no road noise at all - was very quiet and had a shop / take away within walking distance. This motel was definitely value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alfred Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfred Motor Inn

Address: 1843 Sturt Street, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Alfred Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfred Motor Inn Ballarat, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfred Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.