We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy bed, handy spot, helpful reception” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Begonia City Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Begonia City Motor Inn to your Saves list
Begonia City Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   244 Albert St. | Sebastopol, Ballarat, Victoria 3356, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Ballarat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Comfy bed, handy spot, helpful reception”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

On edge of town, but handy for Sovereign Hill. Well-appointed, very comfy bed, modern decor, with all the expected facilities (FoxTV, microwave, etc). Reception pointed me in right direction for eating, tourism, etc and handled my several queries with patience! Only wondered why, although providing kettle, fridge and microwave, there were no plates, bowls, knives or breakfast spoons provided? Eating your porridge from a mug is bizarre.... But a good, restful night's stay.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 or more are furthest from the main road, though noise Is not really a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    41
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
88
55
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

i stayed at the motel last weekend with my sons and nephews. Excellent service ,clean apartment Karen and Jim are so friendly. Excellent breakfast. I have no regrets staying here. the boys enjoyed themselves as well. Thanks Karen and Jim for making our stay memorable!!!!!

Jasvinder Kaur

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We've stayed at the Begonia twice now. l would highly reccomend it. lt is really clean, great comfy beds and the hosts are very helpful. lt is a quick drive out of Ballarat, but it is quite nice to enjoy the countryside. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We decided to spend a night in Ballarat just as a stopover on route to Melbourne. Begonia City Motor Inn turned out to be a great choice. Though it is some distance away from Ballarat, the great rooms made up for it. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment and requested for a quiet area. Our requests were fulfilled and the rooms were really great. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen was very well equipped. The selection of TV channels is the best that we have come across throughout our trip. Jim is very friendly and made some great recommendations. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

we stayed at this motel about 2 years ago and we used it again this time the rooms are well set out
the atmosphere you get from karen and jim is very warm and inviting i would recomend if you would like somewhere to stay close to ballarat this is the place

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We hired 3 rooms for 6 of us South Aussies attending a conference in Ballarat.
The rooms were nice and tidy and clean.
The beds were very comfortable and it is a quiet location.
It was great to have free WiFi and Foxtel.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The rooms were very clean , the staff had a great attiude were very welcoming and helpful its one of the better motels I have stayed in. Breakfast menu and prices were excellent and right on time . I had a Spa Suite. The only negative was the sound of either the airconditioners or pool filter was annoying but not so loud as to disturb my sleep

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Begonia City Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Begonia City Motor Inn

Address: 244 Albert St. | Sebastopol, Ballarat, Victoria 3356, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Begonia City Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Begonia City Motor Inn is a small family operated motel located in the Ballarat suburb of Sebastopol. Situated on the Midland Highway all units are located at the rear of the property well away from any traffic noise. Unit types include Doubles, Twins, Family, Spa and two-bedroom self-contained apartments. All rooms are well-appointed with queen beds, 81cm LCD televisions, DVD players, toasters, irons and tea and coffee making facilities. Televisions have all free-to-air stations as well as full Foxtel Platinum service which include over 100 (satellite) channels as well as all free-to-air stations. All rooms have access to free high-speed wireless internet with three access points allocated to each room. Situated away from the hustle and bustle of the CBD yet still very accessible to all of Ballarat's features including Sovereign Hill. The motel is located an easy walk to shopping facilities which include a Coles Supermarket, post office, hotels, chemist and take away food premises. The Sebastopol Bowls Club is 200 metres away and provides bistro meals for lunch and dinner seven days a week, as does the Royal Mail Hotel which is a five minute stroll away at most. No matter what your needs you will find that Begonia City Motor Inn will provide you with all the comforts of home. It is the idea base for your visit to Ballarat, be it for leisure or business or if you are simply looking for a good night's sleep so that you are well rested to continue your journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Begonia City Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Begonia City Motor Inn Ballarat, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Begonia City Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.