We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I thought.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kryal Castle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kryal Castle to your Saves list
Kryal Castle
4.0 of 5 Castle   |   121 Forbes Road | Leigh Creek, Ballarat, Victoria, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Better than I thought.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The rooms are EXQUISITE, the banquet & entertainment was HILARIOUS & the staff treat you like you've been friends for years. Only downside- only ONE guy stayed in character. He was hilarious. The rest were a bit slack on that front. Wish there was more entertainment around the place too though. Over all I think it's a good "give it a go" place. Even if you just visit once.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kryal_Castle, Manager at Kryal Castle, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi ZRonchi,

We are glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you found it to be better than you thought. We are slowly building on the entertainment we have to offer and are starting a whole new daily timetable as of the 31st March 2014 which offers more than our current timetable. I have passed on your feedback to our performance team in regards to "staying in character".

Thankyou for your review.
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    29
    15
    3
    6
See reviews for
44
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My boyfriend and I experienced a wonderful stay at Kryal Castle! All of the events were superb and included the audience rather than performing for them. Everyone stayed in character and we had a wonderful time watching them interact with each other during events and with us and the other visitors to the park. The events were timed out nicely from the moment the park opened until just before admission closed with enough time for us to wander around the park and have a look at everything. We checked in after all the events had finished and were greeted very warmly. At reception we were notified that we had been upgraded from the Queen Spa Suite to the King Spa Suite, a beautiful gesture on behalf of the owners. Also there we had the option to have room service dinner delivered to our rooms at a time that suited us (between 5:30pm-7:30pm) and were taken down to our room. There we were able to indulge in the beautifully set up rooms (the photos don't do it justice). Everything was so neat and clean and was so welcoming at the same time. I don't think I've slept in a more comfortable bed. Fresh hot bread was delivered for breakfast with out dinner which was a large hearty meal. There was a fair few options to choose from which was nice and we could chose to pay for it when we checked in or in the morning. The breakfast basket was so fresh and tasted delicious. I'd heard people say it was small so I brought along some extra but honestly it wasn't needed. That basket was very filling and held me over well into lunchtime. Also included in the accommodation cost was a 2 day pass to the castle which was very welcoming as we didn't have to nick off the next day we could hang around after checking out and enjoy ourselves. Another bonus was having the grounds to ourselves after the park had closed. It was so peaceful and relaxing to sit next to the grand arena in the evening after a large hot dinner. Also the bathrooms were spacious and the spa was delightful after a day of walking around. The room we found needed the heater on as it got darker (the forecast for the day was quite cool) but it warmed up quickly and lasted us all night. Not surprising was the cold tiles in the bathroom thats a little cool when the room is so warm but its expected really. Overall we had a delightful stay and are already making plans to return. Also the added bonus that they offer a membership that is extremely reasonable that gives 12 month daily access to the park! Also after reading what the park is looking at doing in the future its definitely an exciting investment to look into.

Room Tip: Splurge a little more and get the spa suite! You won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kryal_Castle, Manager at Kryal Castle, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi Hannah,

It's so nice to hear that our guests have had such a positive experience when they have stayed with us. We do pride ourselves in our service and all that we can offer. We are only a new venture and are always looking for ways to improve. From your review it looks like we are on the right track. Thank you so much for your kind words and we hope to see you back soon.

Regards
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

the room was niece.the theme park was not much need more things for kids to do.
may be look at some rides for kids.and turn it into a resort.
so that mums and dads can make a day of it. and the kids will have fun with things to do.

Room Tip: all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kryal_Castle, Manager at Kryal Castle, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hi Maryann,

Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking at ways to improve our product and one of our ideas is to introduce more entertainment around the Castle. We have just restructured out daily timetable which actually starts today the 31st March 2014. We have taken on board your "Resort" recommendation.

Regards
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The castle has come a huge way! The new walk-through dragon attraction entrance is cutting edge, and the refurbished grounds are looking great. Looking forward to returning to see what else is in store as the construction is still underway. Room was a great size, no complaints here. Also, the walk from the guest carpark to the rooms is tiny and no issue, in fact it's very convenient to be able to get into the park the sneaky back way. The hosts are lovely and very accommodating with any requests. Kids will love the entertainment and roving knights, probably not enough for adults to do more than a day but with so much else to do in Ballarat and neighbouring towns it's a very unique and fun place to stay for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kryal_Castle, Manager at Kryal Castle, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hi Miss B,

Thank you for your review and kind words. We agree with your comments on our Labyrinth entrance and are glad to hear you enjoyed the overall experience. You are correct in saying that there is a lot to offer in our surrounding area once you have finished exploring the Castle and we are happy to recommed some places. Perhaps we'll see you again in the near future.

Regards
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed at Kryal castle for one night with the family and my 5 year old niece. As part of the stay we had free access to the theme park. My niece enjoyed the castle and all of the shows/activities, she had an absolute blast. For the adults it was also nice to let your imagination run wild, and wine & beer was also available with your lunch which was lovely.
The suites were brilliant! Well furnished and we had everything that we needed! An iron, kettle, toaster, microwave, heating and aircon, and wifi.
Breakfast consisted of two slices of toast each with jam, butter and Vegemite, muesli (yummy!), yogurt, fruit and orange juice. More than sufficient and what a healthy start to the day!
The rooms were gorgeous and the bed was super comfy!
The site managers (who also reside at the castle) were most accommodating! We were there to celebrate a birthday and had brought a cake with us. They stored it for us and later provided us with plates and a lighter for the candles. They were very friendly and ensured that we had a comfortable and enjoyable stay.
I was very impressed with the suites, and I would certainly recommend staying at Kryal Castle if you are visiting the area. I look forward to our next stay!
Thank-you :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kryal_Castle, Manager at Kryal Castle, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hi Vessi,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Castle. We are happy that you found our rooms to be well equipped and everybody enjoyed the birthday. We look forward to your return in the future.

Regards
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casino, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

staying at the Kryal castle, nice clean rooms, but so very small!!!! no where to sit and eat breakfast which is provided. no where to sit and relax and have a wine, I do notice that the roof of the castle is somewhat wasted and maybe in the future this area could be converted into a lovely balcony to sit and enjoy a wine looking over the view of ballarat. the biggest concern for my husband and I (both in our late 50's), was we had to lug our huge bags quiet some way on uneven ground from the carpark to our room. we are here for 4 nights and with the size of the rooms it is becoming very uncomfortable. I think a one or at the most 2 night stay is enough. I do believe they have a lot of travel agents staying tonight and of course the better rooms have probably been given to them.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kryal_Castle, Manager at Kryal Castle, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Hi Gidget,

Thank you for your feedback. I see you have left a review whilst being onsite. I am a little disappointed that you didn't come and see us personally about a couple of issues that you had. We would have done everything in our power to rectify the situation to make your stay as comfortable as possible if you had told us.

You were in one of our smaller rooms that we offer and we are addressing the very problem you have mentioned. We are turning it into an adjoining room with the Queen Suite next door so there will be a lot more space.

The walk from the car to the rooms is about 50 meters. We do offer to help with luggage however your husband declined the offer.

In regards to the 'Travel Agents'. We did host a dinner and Castle viewing for some Event Co-ordinators but none of them stayed onsite that evening. I apologise if this inconvenienced you in anyway.

We have taken your feedback onboard about a balcony and will look at it for the future.

Regards
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

What a lovely relaxing stay. Couldn't have asked for any more regarding check in airconditioned rooms on arrival (40 celcius!! outside, nice and cool in rooms.
Lovely King room. Lovely breakfast basket and entry into Castle all included in package.
Thankyou, Craig, for making us welcome.
Only down side. Would have loved to have sat out the back on balcony sipping a wine looking out to Ballarat night lights.
Maybe this could be thought of in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT looking out bathroom windows at water heaters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kryal_Castle, Manager at Kryal Castle, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Hi Barb,

Thank you for taking the time and leaving us a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We definitely will take on board your suggestion of a rear balcony.

Regards
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kryal Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kryal Castle

Address: 121 Forbes Road | Leigh Creek, Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kryal Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a major redevelopment, and reopening in March 2013, Kryal Castle is Australia's only medieval adventure park, and recreates a legendary land of myths and medieval adventure with knights, dragons, wizards, kings, queens, princesses and fairies. Within the Castle walls is a medieval town of activities, where visitors feel as if they have entered a unique and magical place! Witness daring jousting contests, venture down into the creepy Torture Dungeon or wander through the grounds and gardens exploring the Knight's Round Table Tower, the Maze, Dragon's Labyrinth, Village Traders, Bravehearts Playground, Wizards Workroom, Jesters Theatre and so much more. Buy sweets from the Tooth Fairy Lolly Shop, and if you can't resist the lure of this fascinating period try on an outfit at the King's Britches Costume Emporium and take a picture of your medieval self. To extend the adventure, visitors can continue with a night in one of the Castle's 17 luxury suites, which beautifully capture the glory and mystery of times past, with stunning hand woven European tapestries, yet are as modern and as well equipped as any lord or lady would want. Perfect for romantic getaways or fun family adventures staying in the heart of the action! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Kryal Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kryal Castle Ballarat, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kryal Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.