We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sovereign Views Apartments

Save Saved
You added Sovereign Views Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sovereign Views Apartments
5 Lal Lal St | Golden Point, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 35 hotels in Ballarat
Melbourne
1 review
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Recently booked in to Sovereign Views Apartments in Ballarat lovely clean rooms courteous and helpful staff and you are left to enjoy your stay in the well equipped apartment highly reccomend.
Being Ballarat the best thing is they have hot water radiators that keep the place taosty warm.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
9
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights. This is a great place to stay if you don't need much (or any) interaction with the hotel staff. The good points of the place is the parking under the hotel, relatively inexpensive, close to good restaurents and opposite Soverign Hill. Don't expect much in terms of room service as you are expected to clean and wash up all your dishes before you leave or you'll be charged. The room was not cleaned or sheets changed during the 4 days I was there. But, if you do get a chance to meet the proprieter, she is a very nice person and is very helpful. (Would be good if they had an ironing board)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmaCurnow, Manager at Sovereign Views Apartments, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review. Unfortunately if you are in for work and have long hours you will not often see staff members as our office is manned from 8.45 - 6pm Mon - Frid. though we are available 24 hours by phone and are not far away if needed . Being self contained apartments (not a motel) we do not do a daily clean unless you are in for 5 days or more or if request same. If there is an issue eg. the iron and ironing board give us a call and we will do our best to remedy the situation. It is in our best interest that you, the guest, have an enjoyable and stress free stay as we want you to come back, but if we are not aware of problems we cant fix them. As you mentioned we are in a great location and are very accessible to a large number of popular restaurants and take aways. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed for two nights in a queen studio room - it was very small, adjacent to a stair well which was lit all night - window coverings on the room were not sufficient to keep the light out of the room. The shower was also tiny. Overall the room was average for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmaCurnow, Manager at Sovereign Views Apartments, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thankyou for your review, it is always good to get feedback. We have always advertised our Queen Studio rooms to be compact and cosy, which they are while still having everything you need, as in a Kitchenette with fridge and stove. 32inch LCD with DVD player on the wall, hydronic heating and air con. There is a light switch at the top of the stairs which turns the lights off, im sorry you didnt see that as I would like to think your stay then would have been more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed here in Jan 2012 while we were in town for the Ballarat beer festival. Location is pretty good, especially if you are interested in visiting Sovereign Hill which is just up the street, in fact you could walk there! There are a bunch of restaurants and such nearby also which is handy.

The apartment was a good size and quite comfortable. It was reasonably affordable also so it ticked all the boxes we needed. Service from management was questionable - we asked for extra toilet paper and they said no, we had to go buy it ourselves. Also worth noting there is a bread factory next door, while we were there they were obviously baking Hot Cross Buns which filled the neighbourhood with the most heavenly smell, but I do recognise that sort of thing could annoy some.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmaCurnow, Manager at Sovereign Views Apartments, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thankyou for your review. We are in a fantastic location within close proximity to a large number and variety of eating places and tourist attractions, and close to the CBD. And yes the smells from the bakery are amazing, unless of course your hungry. Being self contained apartments virtually means you are self sufficient ,We do give complimentary tea, coffee sugar, soaps shampoos and a couple of rolls of toilet paper to get you started. generally when familys are in for a few days they head off to the supermarket and acquire all the neccessites required as we know 3 toilet rolls dont go far with kids! The beer fest is on again next January, already have a large number of repeat bookings from last year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We have stayed at Sovereign Views in March for the last 4 years and found the accommodation excellent.
It is close to the Sovereign Hill tourist attraction, making it easy for us to get to the other places we needed to go.
The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff willing to go out of their way to be helpful.
There are also several restaurants and takeaways within walking distance We have booked again for next year.
We love that we can go away for our basketball tournament and all be in one room which is great for our team bonding!!!
Thank you, Wilma, for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

These apartments make for a genuine intimate holiday within easy reach of Ballarat and the Gold Mine. But, if you are a sporting person - and I am a cyclist - then this is the perfect base to enjoy the area. Australia's National Titles are held here in January each year a stone's throw from the courses. It is a real home-from-home venue, but book early for the Nationals!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We have stayed at Sovereign Views in January for the last two years and found the accommodation excellent and the position in a quiet area, close to the Sovereign Hill tourist attraction, making it easy for us to get to the other places we needed to go. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff willing to go out of their way to be helpful. There are also several restaurants and takeaways within walking distance We have booked again for next year. Thank you, Wilma, for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sovereign Views Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Views Apartments

Address: 5 Lal Lal St | Golden Point, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 hotels in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sovereign Views Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovereign Views Apartments Ballarat, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sovereign Views Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.