We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Cafe & Bar

Blue Cafe & Bar
Invermay Road, Inveresk, Launceston, Tasmania 7248, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 248 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Greek, Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
morwell
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Special Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a 60th Birthday, so the food was a set menu. Entree was finger food, Pumpkin & Sage fritters, these were delicious little mouthfuls, light and crunchy with a vinegar dipping sauce. Piscuitto and Motzarella balls with a creamy dipping sauce, also excellent. Both lovely and hot for a cold night. When seated there was 2 mains, alternate drop. I had the Blue Travelley, Asian salad, chat potatoes and a lemon butter, amazing tastes. He had Confit of Duck on Garlic Mashed potato and steamed beans, he ate the lot with a smile on his face. Dessert was pre bought cake which the staff cut and served. Drinks pre dinner were bought at the bar, quite pricey. Very nice staff, very cheerful. Flat floors so suitable for all mobilities. Nighttime when we went so unable to see much outside, think it might be a bit hidden away. Would go back next time in Launceston. Really nice venue, couches for intimate drinks.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    23
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We eat at the Blue Cafe every time we visit Lonnie for the footy, have had great food or service every time. Also a popular place for a drink and snack before and after the game.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I couldn't fault our meal at Blue tonight. I had the Pork Belly and my son had the Roast Duck salad, both dishes were Asian inspired and delicious. We both decided on the Fried Custard with honey, pistachios and vanilla ice-cream for dessert and again it was delicious. I've had some really enjoyable, interesting meals at Blue, but tonight was probably the best yet.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very pleasant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Whether breakfast or lunch, the friendly and groovy staff add to the relaxed ambience. Coffee is one of the best in Launceston and the menu is quirky, but not odd, with the flavour combinations exciting without being pretentious.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away but worth the search. The meals were great. Service was relaxed and very good. Will come back and highly recommend

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Cafe & Bar also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Blue Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Cafe & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.