We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly awful!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Cafe & Bar

Blue Cafe & Bar
Invermay Road, Inveresk, Launceston, Tasmania 7248, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 226 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Greek, Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unexpectedly awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

First impressions were good, it is in a nice spot with a lovely outdoor seating area but boy was the food and service a big let down. Contrived, ho hum food, trying way too hard to be something that can't be delivered. We went for brunch, I had the proscuitto fritters which were a mish mosh of hollandaise sauce, cheese and clumps of gristly ham. Add a side of the greasiest asparagus you've ever seen, overcooked eggs and more hollandaise all over the top and apparently you have a winner...hmm, not so Blue. Coffees were served almost cold and the staff could really use some barista training. We won't be returning or recommending.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    23
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamar Valley
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Join the cyclists and joggers outside for a hearty breakfast. Great service delicious food and not overpriced. Plenty of nearby parking.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great for the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Love eating here! The coffee is lovely and the meals are excellent! My boys love the pizza and the milkshakes. We never feel out of place here as it is a relaxed environment!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Breakfast was a winner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Everything is organic. The coffee is to die for and the bacon and eggs was fantastic. On another visit when they were very busy the waitress was a bit off hand with us, so I was disappointed, but other times it has been very good, so I am prepared to come back because the food is excellent.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“'tired launceston's' best cafe!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I always enjoy blue for a relaxing lunch. Service is always welcoming, friendly and casual and there is always something new and exotic on the menu to try. Good selection of beer and wine. As for previous comments made about opening hours they always stay open late in the afternoon for lunch. I understand that the half an hour between breakfast and lunch is essential for organization and preparation between services to ensure that the peak busy times are kept under control. Blue has an extensive and creative menu that is modern. If you don't like our town then stay in your big city. Sincerely, aggravated local.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Cafe & Bar also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Blue Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Cafe & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.