We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place - home away from home - warm and welcoming!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kurrajong House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kurrajong House to your Saves list
Kurrajong House
Corner 17 Adelaide & 18 High Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Launceston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The perfect place - home away from home - warm and welcoming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

What a find! Julie & Graham gave us such a warm welcome - even though we were late! So warm and friendly we immediately felt at home. The Heritage Guest was everything it said on the tin (as they say)! Excellent accommodation, spacious rooms. Delicious breakfast. Julie was a mine of information for two first timers in Tasmania and the book in the room was filled with useful information too. Places to visit, restaurants etc., etc. Only there 3 nights - just wish it had been longer.

An extra early departure - 4.30 am - Julie offered breakfast in our room and came over to check - in the pouring rain - that we had not overslept - what more could you ask.

Will certainly recommend to friends & family.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    19
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
134
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

We had a great stay at Kurrajong House. Julie offered my family a bigger room without any charge. Room is very clean and spacious and the garden is very beautiful. Julie and Graeme are very warm and lovely people.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Lovely breakfast, but could include some slight variation of the cooked breakfast each morning eg mushrooms, omlette etc

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We had a lovely stay at Kurrajong House. The hosts were very welcoming, and made some great recommendations about nearby places to visit. The breakfast was also very nice. Great value stay and excellent hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Great location on top of Windmill Hill close to CBD. Faultless presentation and friendly helpful service. Substantial delicious breakfast. Hosts knew the area and gave guests maps marking their favourite tourist spots. Indeed, after a couple of days it was like staying with friends. Very highly recommended on all counts.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We had a fabulous two day stay with Julie & Graeme at Kurrajong House. From spotless rooms and helpful, welcoming hosts to a perfectly cooked English breakfast, they couldn't have done it better. Kurrajong feels like home no matter who you are, and I highly recommend it. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

what more can i say, perfect breakfast in a great breakfast room pampered by hosts too willing to make sure i had everything i needed

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kurrajong House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurrajong House

Address: Corner 17 Adelaide & 18 High Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kurrajong House offers accommodation to adult only guests whom enjoy a quiet and tranquil stay within a heritage property that has been lovingly restored with a chic influence which includes two styles to choose from with 3 Heritage king guest rooms within the main house, and 2 courtyard queen guest rooms that overlook the courtyard or a small garden. We are located in the luxury end of Launceston and a short 5 minute walk to the city for dining, overlooking parks and gardens, and next to the new aquatic centre, Windmill Hill reserve, views over the mountains, and other beautiful heritage homes. Kurrajong House offers accommodation to mature adult guests over the age of 25 years. Kurrajong House is located within a few minutes walk of the city centre for dining, sightseeing, or shopping, or Cataract Gorge, and a leisurely drive to the wineries and Tamar Valley. We are located next to the Launceston Aquatic Centre and a short walk to Aurora Stadium.Breakfast is Continental and Full English, offered complimentary to your stay each morning in the conservatory over looking the courtyard.One off street car space is offered to each guest room during your stay. Complimentary city map, newspapers and discount restaurant vouchers are offered to guests. Full hospitality is offered to guests where we endeavor to make your stay as memorable and special as possible in a quiet luxury environment. As a bed and breakfast hosted property we do ask that your restrict your arrival time to between 2pm-6pm to allow us adequate time to maintain the property to the highest possible standard. No check-ins accepted before 2pm or after 6pm. We do look forward to meeting and welcoming you to Kurrajong House Launceston. We now offer all guests free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kurrajong House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurrajong House Launceston, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kurrajong House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.