We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Comfortable B&B” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kurrajong House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kurrajong House to your Saves list
Kurrajong House
Corner 17 Adelaide & 18 High Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Launceston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Worcester, England
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nice, Comfortable B&B”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife & I stayed at Kurrajong House for 4 nights. The property was a nice, comfortable 'Victorian' style B&B, located in a quiet area of Launceston, yet just a 5-10 minute walk from the City centre and restaurants. A hearty full 'English' breakfast was served each morning. I would rate this property as representing reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    19
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
135
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Very clean and very comfortable B&B with a great hot breakfast. Bed was very comfortable and the room was quite. Good bathroom products and TV on wall in bedroom. Highly recommend and the owners are lovely people as well. Nothing was a problem as we found them late in the evening on a Sunday night where the rest of Launceston was booked out. Thankyou for fitting us in.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Kurrajong House for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Julie and Graeme are the perfect hosts and the House is a picture of style, taste,cleanliness and light.We stayed in the very tasteful,black & white 'Benjamin' room just off the courtyard and were more than happy with our room and it's facilities. Breakfast was a very pleasant and generous affair which included fruits,cereal and a very large hot breakfast if you wished to accept all of Julie's offerings! Julie could not have been more helpful with suggestions of places to see and things to do. Off street parking is a plus. Kurrajong House is on the market and I do hope the standards are maintained though Julie and Graeme and their hospitality would be a hard act to follow!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at Karrajong house 4 nights in February -we were accomodated in the "Stables" Stanley Room that was very comfortable and spacious with the extra touches of quality furnishings, flowers and choccies. Karrajong house has an elegant old world charm about it, complimented by the gracious and attentive hospitality of Graham and Julie, hearty breakfasts accompanied by home made jams and preserves, and a 10 minute pleasant walk to the heart of the CBD. We were appreciative to Graham for giving us a very early lift to the meeting point for the Overland Track, and for storing our luggage whilst we were away. Can highly recommend this beautiful B and B.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were part of the Jenny1246 group, and can only agree with everything Jenny says! We came to Lauceston to attend a wonderful wedding, and Kurrajong House was part of the experience, rather than just somewhere to stay. Our room ('Adelaide') was big, well appointed and spotless.....the decor and appointments throughout the house were comfortable and kind to the feel of the residence and Julie and Graeme were attentive hosts and great company. This is a very special B and B and we are thrilled to give it our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have just had 4 fantastic nights at Kurrajong House with wonderful hosts Julie & Graham. From the moment we arrived we were impressed with their helpfullness and easy good natured service. From the presentation, spaciousness, cleanliness and comfort of the rooms, to the manicured grounds and beautiful gardens, everything was perfect. The furnishing and decor of each room is different and artistically themed. We stayed with friends and enjoyed sharing wine and cheese in the beautiful courtyard and were accommodated together in the breakfast room (or solarium) for hearty well cooked breakfasts. Had we been travelling alone, as a couple, the stay would have been just as enjoyable. The rooms are fully self contained and outdoor areas available to everyone. Car parking is also provided.
I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Kurrajong House to anyone heading to Launceston - Thank you Julie and Graham.

Room Tip: We had an outside room which we loved, but any room would be equally acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Great house with spacious clean room (Adelaide room). Thanks to Julie and Graham for being wonderful hosts. Breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed our stay in Launceston. If you are looking for a B&B in town then you need to consider kurrajong House.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kurrajong House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurrajong House

Address: Corner 17 Adelaide & 18 High Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kurrajong House offers accommodation to adult only guests whom enjoy a quiet and tranquil stay within a heritage property that has been lovingly restored with a chic influence which includes two styles to choose from with 3 Heritage king guest rooms within the main house, and 2 courtyard queen guest rooms that overlook the courtyard or a small garden. We are located in the luxury end of Launceston and a short 5 minute walk to the city for dining, overlooking parks and gardens, and next to the new aquatic centre, Windmill Hill reserve, views over the mountains, and other beautiful heritage homes. Kurrajong House offers accommodation to mature adult guests over the age of 25 years. Kurrajong House is located within a few minutes walk of the city centre for dining, sightseeing, or shopping, or Cataract Gorge, and a leisurely drive to the wineries and Tamar Valley. We are located next to the Launceston Aquatic Centre and a short walk to Aurora Stadium.Breakfast is Continental and Full English, offered complimentary to your stay each morning in the conservatory over looking the courtyard.One off street car space is offered to each guest room during your stay. Complimentary city map, newspapers and discount restaurant vouchers are offered to guests. Full hospitality is offered to guests where we endeavor to make your stay as memorable and special as possible in a quiet luxury environment. As a bed and breakfast hosted property we do ask that your restrict your arrival time to between 2pm-6pm to allow us adequate time to maintain the property to the highest possible standard. No check-ins accepted before 2pm or after 6pm. We do look forward to meeting and welcoming you to Kurrajong House Launceston. We now offer all guests free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kurrajong House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurrajong House Launceston, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kurrajong House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.