We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely vibe and pleasant experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Three Steps on George

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Three Steps on George
158 George Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
03 6334 2084
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 230 Restaurants in Launceston
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Launceston, Australia
1 review
“Lovely vibe and pleasant experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Recently went to 'Three Steps on George', and had a genuinely enjoyable night there. With a warm fire in the center of the restaurant & the luxury of a television in the room, over near the bar, many dinners and myself couldn't be wrong - such friendly staff and great food, quite a busy night in a beautiful historic dining atmosphere. Definitely recommend to anyone seeking a nice night out. Family friendly & perfect for special occasions, simply superb! 10/10!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    26
    23
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Green Ones?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Mains orders being taken -

"What are the vegetables tonight?"
"Green ones"

"May I please have a 10 ounce of raspberry lemonade, a pint of Boags XXX Ale and a bottle of 42 degrees South Sauvignon Blanc"

Translated to -
A pint of raspberry cordial, a XXXX stubbie and a bottle of Pinot Noir?

When questioned -
"can't you just have the pint of raspberry?"
"no its for a lady"
"what about the Boags XXX?"
"we don't sell it"
"yes you do, it's right in front of you on tap"
"that's Pinot Noir, I was after the Sauvignon Blanc please"
"We don't sell it, this is the only 42 Degrees South wine"
"um, no it's not, we just had a bottle and it's right here on your wine list"

Eventually my order was filled and was then advised, wait for it...........
"we don't have EFTPOS"

Ok, so what is the guy doing with his card standing next to me PAYING BY EFTPOS?

OMG, that was the most unbelievable restaurant experience I have ever had, I was waiting for her to say "Whatever you do, don't mention the war"

Absolutely comical, no drink service to your table, what's that about?

The food was actually quite good, my partner ordered a salad with no tomato and it was as if a chef had decided to have a laugh, it appeared to have 1,700 cut tomatoes on top. HAha.

Sweet potato chips - Perfect and deliciously scrumptious!

Overall, hideous customer service I will return one day when feeling a little down just to see if theycan top that experience and cheer me up.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
“An enjoyable eating experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The food, the fire and the staff. The menu was small but well cooked and well served. I was impressed that the Manager, Dale, came and checked on the service and took the time to chat for a while.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We arrived at the three steps and were seated quite quickly which was good, we ordered an entree to share and our mains. Our first impression was good, but after waiting 35 mins for a bread and about an hour 40 for dinner - we left with a sour taste in our mouths. We asked twice where our dinner was and was first told it wasn't far away, 20 mins later it still hasn't arrived. When I asked again why we were still waiting we were provided a number of excuses as to why and not one apology. If they had acknowledged the wait before being seated or even a waitress to come and let us know that they were busy elsewhere we would have been fine but just to be left sitting there with no idea what was happening was very disappointing - I would not recommend dining here, apparently they service the hotel as well? Hence our long wait and the service we received was very dismal. The food was fine once it arrived, your standard pub meal ... but def not worth such a long wait

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Tasmania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“"Long wait guys, really long wait"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

3 of us went to 'George' on Saturday night for coffee and dessert. Meet by a nice young man at the bar who took our order and passed it onto the waitress. Who took a deep breath, rolled her eyes and said ' it's going to be a really long wait guys, really long wait, l have to seat 5 people'. Clearly they don't need customers at this place to make a living! We left and went else where..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Steps on George also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Three Steps on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Steps on George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.