We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit or Miss: New chef needs to pick up his game!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Three Steps on George

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Three Steps on George
158 George Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
03 6334 2084
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 226 Restaurants in Launceston
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss: New chef needs to pick up his game!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Friendly service, good atmosphere,
Food:
Kilpatrick oysters, overcooked but tasted ok, chicken santibollca sounded like it was going to be delicious however on the plate was a pile of carrots that were cooked but still hard, pile of red cabbage and a pile of mash with a pasty piece of chicken wrapped in pancetta and sage couldn't taste the sage and greens were missing of the dish, overall tasted ok but i was disappointed especially for a $30 meals, I could of cooked it at home. Quail was undercooked not much flavour, Lamb rump was preety good and a good size meal and the Caesar salad was tangy. New chef needs to pick up his game

Overall over priced for the what we had wouldn't go back

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    32
    23
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“A well presented and worked Resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Three steps on George is one of the best restaurants/hotel by far in Launceston/Tasmania.. Me and my girlfriend was really happy with our meal but most importantly the comfort of being in the Resturant. It's a well set out laid back Resturant witch reminds me of a more rural look,, I am from molecreek and witch is in the country and would recommend this fabulous place to any person.. When we walked in the door I thought we was some were out in the sticks, the meal and the service was great, I would like to thank u for our big win on the bingo tickets of 150 dollars. So once again thank u for a awesome meal thanks

We will deffiently be coming back, see you soon,

Joshua Wright and Zoe Plumbridge

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BURNIE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Much to Enjoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed the cuisine. Male me ordered Eye fillet steak wrapped in pricuto which was cooked spot on, wife ordered sea food wrap, doesn't comment much but made it known to staff she was very very happy with what was presented. Service was excellent from Paul and crew, seemed to have a good knowledge of where the produce was from, bonus being local of course. Enjoyed a lovely, definitely recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Good food for late travellers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

After a late arrival from a long trip from Perth WA, and expecting things to be shut, it was great to find this restaurant.
Good quality food with ample servings.
Period restaurant with very warm local atmosphere

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Be patient for a poor quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We booked at 6.30 and started after more than 1 hour.
Black angus is a very good meat and what a shame to leave 50% in the plate?
Asked rare and served well done.
Nice place (old pub style)
Very nice waiter
Too expensive for this kind of food. May the chef was on holidays !!!!!
Same problem for a lot of clients.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Steps on George also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Three Steps on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Steps on George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.