We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stillwater

Stillwater
2 Bridge Road, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
+61 3 6331 4153
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 226 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Brisbane
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The staff were so rude at this "upmarket" restaurant that we did not stay. Five star prices for 2 star service - a pity.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsFizz, Owner at Stillwater, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
GreatTravelling from Brisbane, Can't thank you enough for letting us know we let you down and just wondered if you would mind giving us more details so we can get to the bottom of the issue as we endeavour to provide the best service possible in our more than 13 years of operation and pride ourselves on our team not only for their friendliness (a common Tasmanian trait) but their professionalism as well. If you don't want to let us know here please email me directly at kim@stillwater.net.au as we would appreciate the feedback. It is through constructive criticism and innovation we can endeavour to make the business better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    123
    40
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Currumbin, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not a lot more you could want in a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

On the water in Launceston this classic old granery converted to restaurant is very appealing. The food and wines do not disappoint. The staff are very attentive and all in all a wonderful experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Perfect !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Met some of the locals here for a late breakfast!! Loved the location, the service, the atmosphere AND the food. We mainly had the Big Breakfast and it was ok to get an extra plate and share. Will be back and would recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Still Water was chosen for our family's Father's Day breakfast. Not having eaten at the restaurant in 10 years as I remembered it as having 'a lot of white plate for a lot of money' my last visit, I was pleasantly surprised this visit. Many of our party of 7 ordered the 'big breakfast' and a delicious, hearty meal duly arrived - thankfully for $24. I had asked to change the mushrooms for avocado and this was not a problem. However, we had to ask to give our meal order as our coffees were almost finished and we still had not been asked to order. This tardiness could perhaps have been overlooked if the resataurant was full, but this was not the case. The head waiter looked stressed and slapped meals down in front of us with no banter or smiles on offer. Food was good but service was lacking - not what I would expect at a restaurant with it's reputation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverstone, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Simply divine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Had a function here with 10 others last Saturday. We were lucky enough to nab the private cellar - which allowed the slightly black humour favoured by medical personnel to flow!!

Service was impeccable and food just simply excellent. Wines are not cheap - but a great selection available.

For a special dinner this is very hard to beat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stillwater also viewed

 

Been to Stillwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stillwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.