We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stillwater

Stillwater
2 Bridge Road, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
+61 3 6331 4153
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 231 Restaurants in Launceston
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have been there 4 time and I'm sure it get better each time. The service is faultless and the food innovative. Do the degustation. It's worth the indulgence.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    104
    34
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
“Mouth watering!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Always great food and service, the setting is fantastic and the cost reasonable. Will be back again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISBANE, OZ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Exquisite food and service .... Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

After reading the Gourmet Traveller Restaurant 2013 guide, I was very keen to try out the Stillwater restaurant. As a new visitor to the area, we wanted to experience, a beautiful view whilst enjoying delicious food. Stillwater exceeded our expectations with ticking all of these boxes and more, as it is located in a gorgeous building, rich with history. The food immersed your palette with an array of flavours. Beautifully presented meals with pleasant, attentive service made the evening a highly memorable one. Only one tip: book early, as we discovered. Stillwater can get booked up well in advance.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A+ culinary experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had the Six course tasting menu with the wine pairings. It was an amazing meal and it should have been for the price. For us it was a once in a year opportunity and we were truly pleased. The staff is excellent and very knowledgeable. The food delicious and creative. The wine pairings exceptional. The physical space of the restaurant is nice but not to the high standard of the rest of the experience. The building is an older building and well refurbished, however it just doesn't lend itself to a perfect dinning area. Some of the windows are average size so if your table (for 2) is against the wall usually only one person at the table has a window view (which is nice). I am not sure how they could change the seating to make it any better. A must do if you love creative food and you wallet will allow for it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“overpriced & over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were quite excited to eat at this restuarant seeing as it had such good reviews. We went for breakfast. The outlook and staff were both lovely the breakfast was only average. The food was undercooked and not much better than I would expect from any restaurant. For the price it wasn't worth it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stillwater also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Stillwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stillwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.