We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pierre's

Pierre's
88 George Street | Launceston, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
+61 3 6331 6835
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 248 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $38
Cuisines: Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Pierre's has been operating for more than 50 Years and is a true Launceston Icon. With now 5 Consecutive Chefs Hats to its name ( AGFG ) it is the perfect place for Breakfast lunch or Dinner. Bookings Highly Recommended !
Hexham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“A good Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Was a quiet Thursday evening, which was surprising given it's reputation and we had been unable to get into another restaurant nearby. But the welcome and service were very good. Starter was a sharing plate and main course was good, fresh and cooked to order so an accpetable wait. Dinner was well paced, but fairly expensive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    84
    31
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“bangin breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

the service is fast and attentice but relaxed (for me that means professional) omelette is my fave its always perfectly seasoned, sourdough is a bonus and great coffee whats left?

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Although our main meals arrived twenty minutes apart i am aware this can happen in the best restaurants but when the fish of the day "baby snapper" had not been scaled properly i think it was pretty unprofessional. Having read all the reviews and the "two hats" we did expect more.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Good Night Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We've been here several times for lunch during the week, but only a few times for dinner. With relatives turning up from interstate, it was an excuse to go out for a meal in the evening. Booking earlier in the day was efficient, the greeting at the door on arrival was friendly and overall a nice ambience. It was good to see that on a Thursday evening, the restaurant was almost full. The menu had something for everyone but we settled on main courses with desserts. The steak tartare was good (but the degree of attention to detail varies each time I have it), as were the confit duck and the fish special. The desserts were expensive with respect to the type of dishes presented. However, given the good service, it is a venue we will return to, but I'd probably give dessert a miss next time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I only have two hands...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

A night out with friends was soured by service from one of the staff when we nicely enquired about a third coffee that hadn't arrived with the dessert as requested, only to be told that "I only have two hands".
Up until that point the service from our original waitress was fantastic and faultless. Drinks/coffee waitress not so much. We were shocked to say the least. Did she really just say that!
The food was nice buy not fantastic and there are many other restaurants in Launceston that I would put way ahead of Pierre's purely on service alone.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pierre's also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Pierre's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pierre's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.