We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip and Happening Dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pierre's

Pierre's
88 George Street | Launceston, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
+61 3 6331 6835
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 230 Restaurants in Launceston
Price range: $20 - $39
Cuisines: Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Pierre's has been operating for more than 50 Years and is a true Launceston Icon. With now 3 Consecutive Hats to its name ( AGFG ) it is the perfect place for Breakfast lunch or Dinner. Bookings Highly Recommended !
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Hip and Happening Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Another recomended restaurant by our hotel, wasn't sure about this one till I went and checked out the menu , booked a table immediately. Wasn't disappointed , quite surprised how good this dining experience was , certainly not expecting such a high standard . Food, service ambience simply brillant , fine dining experience in a laid back relaxed fashion .

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    77
    27
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tasmania
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Only had one meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

It is a beautifully appointed restaurant but I miss the old decor that it replaced. It was a time warp, old French style decor. This is a great serious date night, I ate at lunch and it was a bit average. I would love to go here more and try other dishes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Uninspiring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Called in for dinner with international friends due in part to the good reviews we had been told about. A touch lacking we all thought and I left feeling disappointed. Oysters for entree were lackluster. Mains were nothing flash we thought. Wife did enjoy her dessert. We did enjoy the wines - as one does.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This small restaurant-brasserie located in the middle of Launceston appears a little bland from the outside but once you are seated you realise you have uncovered a little gem. The interior décor is attractive, the service excellent and the food stunning. I was luck enough to be taken there for lunch this week and it was delightful – from the sourdough bread and olive oil, the beautiful olives and the courses first rate. Only after the event did I find Pierre’s has 2 hats awarded and I can see how. Allow yourself adequate time, revel in the menu choices and wine list. I’ll be back. It is worth a special trip to Launceston.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Valley NSW
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Long standing and the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I'd always missed Pierre's because of the timing of my visits but this time was able to at last experience what I'd heard about from so many people. This restaurant is an institution in this city and for good reason. I went there for breakfast, and if this is any indication I'm back there every time for any meal any day! Menu was perfect, service was outstanding, food was perfect! I've eaten at quite a few other places in this town and none compare in my opinion. Do yourself a favour.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pierre's also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
 
Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Pierre's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pierre's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.