We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Gem in Launceston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Me Wah Restaurant

Me Wah Restaurant
39-41 Invermay Road, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
03 6331 1308
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 231 Restaurants in Launceston
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unexpected Gem in Launceston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Tasmania is renowned for having the cleanest air, water and best primary produce in the world , especially beef and seafood. If you are in Tasmania you have to eat here. Arguably one of the best chinese restaurants in the world

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    38
    18
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Food and Service excellent great menu choices. Make sure to book very popular venue. Staff very eager to please and very attentive.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Almost there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Started off with the duck San Choy bow and lamb pancake, both were delicious. The main which was honey pork, fell short of flavour. The staff were attentive and welcoming. The food seemed overpriced, but I guess you can charge those prices when there is no competition. Overall worth a visit if your cashed up.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Attentive staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Excellent food, and the type of attentive staff I last saw about 30 years ago. Tried the seafood in a basket, and Cantonese beef which were both gluten free. Really wanted to try their signature Abalone dish, but unfortunately this wasn't gluten free.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

After hearing so much about how great the Me Wah brand is in Tasmania, we were really dissapointed with our meals. Perhaps it is the reputation of the Hobart restaurant that bouys the positive reviews, but our meals were really bland and lacking any memorable flavour. Our regular Chinese place in Melbourne buries this place and yet does not recieve the same accolades. Maybe we were there on an off night? Service however was fantastic.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Me Wah Restaurant also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Me Wah Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Me Wah Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.