We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'd have to be a vego not to love this” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jail House Grill

Jail House Grill
32 Wellington Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
03 6331 0466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 226 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You'd have to be a vego not to love this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My partner and I went for dinner and we left with a new appreciation for steak.

The salad bar is not bad but you really come for the awesome quality grass fed steaks cooked perfectly on a wood fired grill.

Best steaks we have had to date. Staff were all friendly and booth seating was nice and intimate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    115
    34
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great Steakhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Attended with work colleague after being recommended to go to this unique restaurant. The atmosphere was great and service wonderful. I ordered the Pacific Kilpatrick oysters which were delicious. The salad bar was excellent and had every kind of salad etc you could think of. I had the pepper steak for the main. The steak was cooked perfectly (medium rare) and the grilled flavour was sensational. Unfortunately for some reason they caked the steak on with crushed peppercorns and only give you a small amount of pepper sauce which was quite unflavoursome. The taste of all the peppercons actually ruined the steak and for the life of me I dont know why they would do that. I have had pepper steak many times with lovely peppery hot sauces but not like this. I would go again but next time I will try a different type of steak.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good food, wine, service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

What more could you want?
The steaks were cooked to order, sides good and the salad bar a nice extra.
All the staff were friendly and efficient.
An extensive wine list, just looking at the listing for the $1200 bottle made me wonder what could possibly be worth that much as I ordered the house red at $24, I know my budget.
A great meal, perhaps a little music would have added something to the ambience but all in all great value for money.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A second visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is a lovely spot in Launceston with a great vibe if you can reconcile ball and chain displays with a comfortable meal. Steaks were okay as were the choices. THe salad bar that comes with the meal is fine and fresh without being pretentious. THis was our second visit after a year. It was okay and the meals were served quick with nice people serving.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Went here with friends last night for the first time in ages. Again, very impressed with it all. It's so nice to get good service and all the staff were pleasant, friendly and efficient. We all enjoyed it and will recommend it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jail House Grill also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Jail House Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jail House Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.