We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG!!! Yum!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jail House Grill

Jail House Grill
32 Wellington Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
03 6331 0466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 226 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“OMG!!! Yum!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Beautiful food, staff managed to provide fantastic service in-spite of the busy Wednesday night rush for a good dose of iron. Lamb rump beautifully cooked, Jailhouse burger is everything you could hope for in a burger. Salad bar was great as we were pretty hungry on arrival, included hot and cold salads and veggies and also pasta. Would visit the Jailhouse over and over again!! Friends who visited 3 years ago still talk about the best steak they've had in their lives at the Jailhouse. Well done guys!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    115
    33
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Casual family steakhouse that is great value for money with a relaxed atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Can't go past jailhouse grill for a sumptuous grilled steak with salad bar. Serves wonderfully fresh tasmanian oysters too. Service was impeccable and very attentive. It was a very relaxing evening. Best of all, they serve small 200g steaks which ladies will appreciate to 600g monsters suitable for a last meal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My hubby (a steak lover) declared the peppered steak his "best steak ever". I had the baby steak with the Jailhouse topping (bacon, mushrooms and onions) and it was quite delicious. The salad bar was great, with a really good selection of vegies (including lovely mixed grilled vegies), and my son enjoyed his 'chips and salad bar' meal; though he saved his enthusiasm for the warm mud cake dessert. A little more than we'd usually pay for a meal out, but hey, we were on holidays and it was worth it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Restaurant staff are trained properly - others should take note!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Last night my husband and I called into the Jail House for a steak as we'd worked late. It's our third visit in about 6 weeks and the wonderful thing is the consistency of the level of service. The staff are great! Wines are poured from the bottle into your glass, they walk through the restaurant with an eye on each table, just in case someone needs their attention (or there are plates ready to be cleared). This is one place where you won't sit 'for ages' with empty plates in front of you. If you need anything, staff approach with a quickened step and a big smile - eager to help.

The steaks are superb. Noel likes his well done and I like mine medium. They always come out exactly as we like them. The salad bar is fresh and really tasty. Well done to all of you, and thank you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Consistently good steaks & great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Being a local, we often eat here if we feel like a steak and can't be bothered cooking. The menu caters for everybody and offers options other than steak. Good choice of entrees, a wide selection of steaks and a well stocked bar.
In the 20 or so times I've been here, only once has the steak been not to my order. Usually leave well satisfied and full.
Will continue to go back :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jail House Grill also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Jail House Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jail House Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.