We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auldington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Auldington to your Saves list
Auldington
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Frederick Stret, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Launceston
George Town, Grand Cayman
1 review
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Nice room, very quite part of town, lovely view.. I have the spa room
And it has lots if space. Stairs are
Lovely and the pictures all around the hotel looks great. Great parking space if you don't mind paying $5.50. Love the gardens. Recommend

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    79
    29
    4
    9
See reviews for
34
121
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Great views from the second and third floor verandahs over the city to Ben Lomond in the distance. Spacious, non-fussy high ceilinged room, friendly yet unobtrusive staff, within walking distance of restaurants (we loved Calabrisella). Only grizzle - wish they'd supplied info about the history of the convent. Some rooms have private balconies. Worth asking for a room with a view. Would definitely stay there again if returning to Launceston.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This was my first visit to The Auldington and the location is excellent. I stayed with my 11-year-old granddaughter. Our room, at the back of the building, was small for 2 and basic but with a good-sized bathroom and a huge tub. It included all facilities and amenities as listed on the website eg hairdryer and bathrobes, a small TV/DVD player and a well-stocked mini bar. Great to have windows that opened on warm summer nights and I loved the communal balcony and lounge.
I booked through Wotif and included a request that we might be given separate beds but this apparently was not possible so we both slept in the queen size. Soft and comfy.
The room was serviced daily. The art on the walls was indeed modern and all by 'Vicki'. Staff were friendly and helpful though I didn't much like the additional $5per day parking fee.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking onto the balcony if you want the view - 2 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Late check-in was very well handled. Room was whisper quiet with very large and clean facilities. Bed comfy, well stocked and reasonably priced mini-bar. Bathroom excellent. The TV was a bit old-school and small but not a real problem. Hardly saw the staff but room was serviced very well. Would definitely stay again and recommended. Would be cool if some sort of on-site breakfast was available....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We thought we book into something historic and we were glad we did. We were greeted by their very efficient receptionist, Rachel. There was even a lift which was welcoming. The place has modern conveniences & immaculate garden. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony. It overlooks a beautiful church & their immaculate garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Some good some bad. Good points were that the room and bathroom were nice. We were given the bath deluxe room which was nice too. The bad points were that the hotel was right next door to a primary school so each day we were woken up early and could not get a good sleep in over the three days we were there. Another disappointing thing was that you had to pay for parking each day. Overall a good place, if you are getting up early that is...

Room Tip: Ask for a room furthest from the primary school
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Our second stay at the Auldington.The staff member on duty was extremely polite and helpful with restaurant suggestions and directions. The rooms have all been renovated and the bathrooms are lovely and modern. Our room was very clean and the bed comfortable. Hotel is out of the CBD so traffic noise is not an issue. There is a charge of $5.50 to use the carpark, but the room rate on Wotif is so reasonable that i don't mind paying for safe parking. Parking on the street is free. Cafe Cuccina just down the street one block is wonderful for breakfast - sooo many choices and great coffee. A terrific Italian restaurant closeby and also a great pub. Cataract Gorge is only a short drive away which is a must see. We enjoy our stays at the Auldington and will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auldington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auldington

Address: 110 Frederick Stret, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Launceston
#4 Business Hotel in Launceston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auldington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auldington Hotel offers true boutique accommodation in Launceston, Tasmania. What was once the Presentation Sisters Convent, built in 1899, has now been converted into a luxurious, welcoming and peaceful, 4.5 Star AAA rated hotel. The preserved architecture of the heritage building now contrasts with stylish, comfortable and modern rooms, all with private ensuites. Over half of the rooms also enjoy a deep, luxurious bath or spa bath and many rooms have stunning views across our landscaped gardens, central and East Launceston and the mountain ranges beyond. Our friendly, knowledgeable staff are always happy to provide guests with useful information on all of the local attractions, restaurant and cafe recommendations. At Auldington we strive to provide a personal and welcoming customer service experience that we hope is an accurate reflection of the hotel and the values that are important to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Auldington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auldington Hotel Launceston
Auldington Launceston, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auldington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.