We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SOME PERCEPTIONS REALLY ARE AS SIMPLE AS BLACK AND WHITE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Earl Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save!
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Launceston
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“SOME PERCEPTIONS REALLY ARE AS SIMPLE AS BLACK AND WHITE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and from arrival to checkout our stay was worrying and significantly dissapointing. We had booked one of the larger deluxe rooms as we were staying for two days, however we were allocated one of the smallest rooms we have ever seen in a Hotel anywhere. In addition, everytime we tried to return to our room from our excursions, our room keycard would not work and we had to head back down to the reception to have our keycard re activated - this happened 7 times in all. We decided to have dinner in the restaurant on our last evening and made a reservation for 7.00 pm (a really reasonable time) and upon arrival in the restaurant we were advised that our table was not ready; this amazed us as their were only 4 tables occupied and no reserved signs on the vacant tables. We offered to go next door to the tram bar and have a pre dinner drink and they could ring and let us know when our table would be ready. 40 minutes later we were advised that our table was now ready and returned to the restaurant to find that their were only 3 tables occupied? Our meal was really dreadful and they forgot to bring half of it, including a salad that requires no cooking. Not long after we were seated a small party of hotel industry staff occupied the table next to us and began a very loud dialogue , the bottom line of which was that people from our home city in Victoria, Australia thought that they were the centre of the universe and better than anyone else and their comments basically carried on in that theme in a very obvious and highly offensive manner. We stuck it out for as long as we could as we had ordered dinner, but we felt very alarmed and surprised that such obviously hostile behaviour should be directed at us considering we had done nothing to warrant it and had been very patient with the hiccups with our stay and left as soon as we could. Upon check out we were dealt with very tersely and not a friendly word was uttered and we left feeling incredibly dissapointed that we had put our time and hard earned dollars in the direction of this hotel. Perhaps some hotels in more isolated locations feel they can escape being held accountable for their behaviour towards their guests once they have their money, but as any contemporary traveller knows only too well, the world is a much smaller place communication wise and travellers love to support good travel experiences for their fellow travellers and also very importantly assist them to avoid unnecessary worry, expense, rudeness and false advertisment in what may be a frighteningly dissapointing stay somewhere around the world. As mentioned by the hotel management, value is an individual perception, but shockingly bad customer service is as simple as black and white, once you have been on the receiving end of it. Australian standards for hospitality shoud be leading the world, however poor line management can filter down to the coalface and unfortunately the customer on accasions; I recomment the Mecure Head Office take a good hard look at the management of this state's hotels under their branding, in the hope that no one else ever has the experiences that so many of us have had with their establishments.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    332
    190
    52
    26
See reviews for
118
302
74
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
I've been everywhere man
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

The Motel has been done up fairly recently and is in a very central location, with great staff (were especially good with their dinner recommendations Pickled Evenings was a Highlight). The rooms were modern and clean etc but the huge problem was, no air-conditioner!!! we walked into our room on the 3rd floor after checking in on a warm, but certainly not hot couple of days in northern Tasmania (about 27 degrees celcius) and nearly melted.
It was far hotter inside then outside, and all the room had for cooling was a small fan and a 1970's era evaporative cooler that had no effect at all.
We would have really enjoyed our stay there if we didn't fell like we were walking into a sauna every time we entered our room, which of course made for a couple of very unpleasent nights

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010 via mobile

Remarkable and memorable and truly appalling lunch that we never wish to repeat. In no way was the second-rate cafeteria food, including awful supermarket mini-Xmas puddings, worth $95 per head.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2009

We booked a family Xmas lunch for a treat. The staff were pleasant but inexperienced. Pumpkin soup made for 50 and diluted with water to serve 200. Roast meat carved the day before and well stewed in bain maries.. Seafood OK. Salads odd. Looked forward to dessert. Oh no. Truly aweful little puddings with thick yellow custard, cream arrived late. Apple crumble when well done is suitable for a cheap tour, not Xmas lunch in Australia in summer.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

Stayed here for our last night in Tasmania and it was truly awful. We booked a standard room over the phone on the day and rate was moderate but not cheap. The room looked into a brick wall. There was no air conditioning, which may not be a problem given temperatures in Launceston, but the room got full afernoon sun and heated up considerably even with outside temperature of only 24C. We slept with the window as far open as we could get it and the fan on, with only a sheet because it stayed hot all night. Neither of the computers for use of patrons was working. The food dispensing machine in the foyer was nearly empty but we couldn't get it to work anyway. No water glasses provided though there were wine glasses. On departure discovered they charged a fee for all stays paid for on any credit card which I've never encountered before in Australia.
Only redeeming feature was the comfotable bed.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

Bit disappointed as no balcony and the hotel is totally non-smoking. Room OK and location is good. However on the Saturday night I For the smoking reason and the lack of a balcony would not stay again.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

This hotel has to it's credit a reasonable rate, the Mercure corporate image, and close proximity to city park, Boag's brewery, QV Museum and other attractions. However, this is simply not enough to make you feel it is truly 'value-for-money'. There was nothing that came close to exceeding or, in some cases, meeting my expectations. Two things that were particularly dissapointing: the Snappers restaurant and the bathroom. The restaurant seems to offer a variety of meals at a reasonable price. But inside, the colour scheme, mood and fixtures are very boring. Beyond the fake wood panelling and barely occupied fish tank, the restaurant environment is just another large room overlooking a carpark! The 'soup of the Day' entree was absolute rubbish! $10 for, literally, brocolli blended to a pulp, suspended in hot/boiling water. There was nothing to taste. The curry was similarly disappointing, with the chef obviously going to great lengths to suck as much flavour out of every meal. Don't dine in at this Mercure.
The bathroom was also rather disappointing, particularly the shower. There was a problem with the simultaneous delivery of hot and cold water, the taps allowing you a slow drip of scalding water or a rush ice cold water by turning the cold tap on by a few millimeters. Moreover, the shower head arm was very loose, and if not in the most upright position would rapidly fall towards your head creating a potential safety risk.
After discussing this issue with the manager, the maintenance crew did not promptly deal with the issue, still unresolved 2 days after, when I checked out.
Fortunately, as I was staying for a conference, I wasn't overly dependant on this hotel for food, service or assistance, thus sparing myself a lot of potential disappointment. But if I was elderly with little mobility, I would be charged a signficant amount for very little. The staff need to really be shaken up, because while it may be acceptable by Tasmania standards, it compares very poorly with hotels, even much cheaper ones, around Australia.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review, September 8, 2009
Dear Pacific,



Thank you for your time and sharing your comments. I was pleased to read you found the location and Hotel's presentation met with your expectations. Our guests perception of value is of great importance to us and as such I was disappointed to read you felt let down by your experience in Snappers Restaurant. I am pleased to advise that as of the 1st of of September Snappers has launched a brand new spring menu under the creative flair of our new Executive Chef Adrian Bruggy has been met with positive feedback and praise. The new menu offers a range of exciting dishes making the most of Tassie produce.



I would also like to take the opportunity to apologise for the oversight pertaining to the rectification of the issue with the shower in your room during your visit. Our maintenance team are normally very fastidious and resolve problems as soon as they arrive.



We sincerely hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back next time you are in Launceston

Kind Regards
Darren Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston

Address: 3 Earl Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Launceston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston is conveniently located in the city centre, 15 minutes drive from the airport and 2 minutes walk from the main shopping precinct. The hotel features 116 rooms,FREE WiFi, a restaurant specializing in local produce and a cocktail bar. Nearby local attractions include the James Boag Brewery, Launceston Seaport and Cataract Gorge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Launceston Hotel Launceston
Accor Launceston
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.